Thriller at Station Road as Whalley sign off with a tie

History maker: Ian Britcliffe bowling against Salesbury on Saturday, on his way to the three wickets that took him to 101 for the season
History maker: Ian Britcliffe bowling against Salesbury on Saturday, on his way to the three wickets that took him to 101 for the season
Share this article

A sensational final day of the Senior League campaign saw Whalley and Cherry Tree play out a tie at Station Road.

Whalley needed 15 off the last two overs with one wicket remaining, and duly made 13 off the first four balls of the penultimate over before a run out ended their victory charge.

Relegated Cherry Tree totalled 147, after 72 from veteran Naeem Ashraf, with Ashar Zaidi taking 5-61 for Whalley.

In reply, Kamran Anwar also claimed a five-fer, returning figures of 5-49, as the match was tied.

Chris Walton smashed 125 out of Earby’s 220 against Clitheroe at the Applegarth, with professional Kashif Siddique taking 6-106.

The champions were reeling at 121-5, but Jack Dewhurst’s unbeaten 89 saw them to a 24th win of the campaign, passing the target for the loss of five wickets.

As reported on the back page, Ian Britcliffe got the three wickets he needed to pass the magical milestone of 100 for the season in Ribblesdale Wanderers’ nine-wicket win over Salesbury.

The Red Caps were dismissed for 139, with Brannon Varley taking the other seven wickets to fall, for 61 runs.

Then in reply, Charlie Jackson’s unbeaten 69 saw Wanderers over the line on a day of celebration at Church Meadow.

Read ended their campaign on Saturday with a win - but it wasn’t enough to secure third place.

The Whalley Road side ended the season in fourth, after finishing runners-up in the previous three years, as rivals Settle beat Padiham.

Read won comfortably at Baxenden by 99 runs.

The locals rattled up a tally of 233-3, with big-hitting Mohammed Jamal finishing unbeaten on 56, and captain Kyle O’Connor also carrying his bat for 66 not out after openers Connor Lowes (27) and Joe Marshall (30) laid the foundations.

In reply, Baxenden were all out for 134, the wickets shared between Jon Harvey (2-49), Elliot Lowes (3-32), Andrew Rushton (2-36) and Warren Eastham (3-15).

In the First Division, Clitheroe seconds were looking to take advantage of any Brinscall slip-up as they chased the title.

However, Brinscall took care of business, bowling Barnoldswick out for 74, before sealing promotion, winning by nine wickets.

In any case, Clitheroe lost to Burnley Belvedere by 24 runs, all out for 84 chasing a target of 108.


Senior League – Champions: Clitheroe; Runners-up: Barnoldswick.Division One – Champions: Brinscall; Runners-up: Clitheroe; Relegated: Settle, Feniscowles; Division Two – Champions: Burnley Belvedere; Runners-up Brooksbottom; Division Three – To be decided; Ramsbottom Cup – Winners: Ribblesdale Wanderers; Lawrenson Cup – Winners: Brinscall.