Ribblesdale Wanderers seal hat-trick

editorial image
Share this article

Ribblesdale Wanderers thirds are pictured with the Ribblesdale League Third Division Championship trophy, which they won for the third consecutive season.

They only lost one league game all season, and credit goes to Terry Braithwaite, who has led the side over the past 3 years.

It caps a season in which the seconds were First Division runners-up, while the firsts won the Ramsbottom Cup and qualified for the Lancashire Cup.

Meanwhile, a crushing 218-run win over Oswaldtwistle Immanuel secured Read’s runners-up spot in the Ribblesdale League Senior Division.

And with champion Baxenden’s game at Settle being washed out, the men from Whalley Road only missed out on top spot by six points.

Read finished in style, amassing 256, helped by half centuries from Joe Marshall and Warren Eastham.

The visitors were dismissed for 138.

Last season’s title winners, Clitheroe, also enjoyed a winning end of their campaign. Kashif Siddique hit 174 out of their 276-8 in a rain affected game at Edenfield.

Chasing a revised target of 205, the home side limped to 108-8 at stumps.

Third place Barnoldswick’s game at Great Harwood also fell victim to the weather. And that allowed fourth placed Whalley to close to within five points thanks to a five-wicket victory against Earby.

Ribblesdale Wanderers finished fifth, courtesy of a seven-wicket win at Salesbury to also clinch their appearance in next season’s Lancashire Cup.

Sadly, for Salesbury, they collected the wooden spoon for a second successive season.