Read celebrate double success

Double winners: Read seconds
Double winners: Read seconds
Share this article

It’s been a memorable campaign for Read Cricket Club.

While the senior side won their first silverware in a decade - with their first-ever 20/20 crown - the Whalley Road second string secured the Division One and Lawrenson Cup double for the first time in 35 years.

Andrew Turner became the first skipper since Frank Newby to land the double when Earby were turned over in emphatic fashion on home soil.

Nabeel Ahmed (55), vice captain Michael Whalley (16), George Ashworth (72), Michael Taylor (72 not out) and Jack Wood (60 not out) helped total 292, before Wood took 7-24 from seven overs to ensure the championship was won in style.

“The 2014 season has been an excellent year for Read seconds,” Turner said. “The mix of youth and experience has led to very consistent performances. A run of 17 successive victories saw us seal the double.

“But while winning the double is very satisfying, the progression of Kieren Grimshaw, Thomas Turner, Jack Wood and Omar Hussain into first team regulars is more of an achievement in my eyes. Next year we will look to do the same again - go out to win every game while giving youth an opportunity to naturally progress.

“Special mention goes to the fantastic support from the groundstaff.”