Clitheroe win anniversary match against Pleasington

editorial image
Share this article

History hung heavily in the air when the current and former captains of Clitheroe and Pleasington Golf Club met to compete for the inaugural staging of the Kirkaldy Niblick competition.

On the 125th anniversary of both clubs, Clitheroe took the trophy in the foursomes play by two-and-a-half matches to one-and-ahalf.

A dinner was held in the clubhouse following the golf when the trophy was presented to the winning club.

There was a tight finish to Saturday’s Winter League Fourball when Kevin Rogerson and Steve Credie’s 41 points got them home.

They finished just one point ahead of Gary Thompson and Ron Mason who claimed the runners-up spot after a card play-off with Jim Tierney and Dennis Underwood.