Clitheroe land East Lancs GA Scratch Trophy

Mark Ashworth from Clitheroe GC
Mark Ashworth from Clitheroe GC
Share this article

Clitheroe golfers followed up Tony Flanagan’s Lancashire Seniors Championship win by landing the East Lancashire Golf Association Scratch Trophy.

As reported on the back page, Flanagan headed the field at Blackpool North Shore Golf Club with rounds of 70 and 74 to win the Lancashire Seniors Championship.

Two other Clitheroe golfers put in creditable performances with Gary Byrne fourth, and 2015 and 2016 champion Tony Holt one shot behind on 150.

Holt and Flanagan were also involved in the ELGA Scratch Trophy triumph at Colne Golf Club when, along with Mark Ashworth and Shaun Field, the foursome put together an impressive total of 290 to win by 10 shots from their nearest rivals Accrington Golf Club on 300. The win was a repeat the club’s 2016 win.

Mark Ashworth was also in the news on Sunday when he retained the club championship at Clitheroe with rounds of 72 and 70.

Mark Jones was the runner-up on 149 with Ralph Postlethwaite in third place on 151.

Saturday’s Single Stableford saw the club’s General Manager Steve Alcock lead the field with his score of 39 points after a card play-off with Neil Winkley.

Dieno George headed a trio of players on 38 points to take third spot after card play-offs with Edward White and Adam Wood.

The Seniors were in action on Tuesday when John Coulter with 43 points got the verdict over Dave Brennan after a card play-off in the Seniors’ Stableford competition. Alex Rigby was in third place on 42 points, two ahead of Keith Allen on 40 points.

The ladies competed for the Gilbert Benson Trophy on Thursday with Janette Dowdy scoring 90-18-72 to win by three shots from Caroline Cherry on 92-17-75 after card play-offs with Edith Child and Val Fairless. A nine hole Stableford was won by Patricia Houghton with 10 points.