Clitheroe duo help Lancs regain title

Senior Men's County Finals 2016Chipping SodburyCredit: Leaderboard Photography
Senior Men's County Finals 2016Chipping SodburyCredit: Leaderboard Photography

Clitheroe’s Gary Byrne and Tony Holt helped Lancashire regain their English Senior Men’s County crown in a thrilling finale at Chipping Sodbury Golf Club in Gloucestershire.

They beat defending champions BB&O (Bucks, Berks and Oxon) 6-3 in a title decider, but the scoreline sounds much more comfortable than the reality.

Lancashire, who also won in 2014, got ahead early on by winning the morning foursomes 2-1. But BB&O made them fight every inch of the way in the singles, with five of the six games going to the 18th – and the sixth decided on the 17th.

l Jonathan Drew held on to win Saturday’s Medal at Clitheroe Golf Club with his score of 85-16-69 after card play-offs with Andrew Wright (78-9-69) and George Young (71-2-69). Lancashire Seniors’ Champion Tony Holt had the best gross score, with four birdies on the back nine helping him to a one-under- par score of 70.

Divisional winners were Mark Jones (Division One), Peter Dunn (Division Two). With only one more qualifying round remaining, the race for the Dewhurst Trophy is hotting up, with George Young joining Simon Swindells on 415 after his excellent medal round on Saturday. The pair are two shots behind Mark Jones who leads the list on 413.

A Yellow Tee Stableford on Monday was won by Andrew Driver with 35 points, followed by Chris Silverwood on 34 points.

On Thursday, 39 members of the Seniors’ Section enjoyed their Autumn Outing with a visit to Wigan. The winning team were club captain Dave Johnson, seniors’ captain Neil Fawcett and Steve Law with 79 points. Sandy Morrison, Alan Clifford and Eddie McGarry were runners-up with 77 points, and third place were Swamy Narayana, Rob Turner and Phil Bishop with 75 points.

The ladies’ competition on Thursday was a Ladies Wear It Pink Two Division Stableford. Division One winner was Sharon Turner with 37 points. Elaine Marsden won the Division Two prize with 32 points.

l At Mytton Fold, the penultimate round of the summer season saw some exceptional scoring.

Topping off a superb year, John Berry won with a 74-10- 64. Second on a card playoff was John Parkinson (79-12- 67), nudging Sam Rayner into third (81-14- 67).

Just the two birdies, both on the first by Mick Bryan and Andy McLeod.

On Sunday, in the Bill Almond Memorial Trophy, nearest the pin on the 9th was overall winner Brenda Griffith (33 points); the straightest drive on the 15th was Tarja Wilson.

In the Captain v President match, won by the captain, Dave Westwood’s 37 took top prize. Captain Nick Avino was second and David Clegg third.