Walmsley is the toast of Clitheroe Golf Club!

editorial image
Share this article

Pineau De Re was the toast of Aintree last Saturday but Phil Walmsley was the toast of Clitheroe Golf Club with a nett 67 return to win the top prize in the Medal and 2nd CC Qualifier.

In heavy going, Walmsley emerged from the pack to finish first past the post with a two-shot margin over four competitors on 69.

Malcolm Goldsworthy only dropped five shots on the back nine to take the runners-up spot after cards with Sartorial Artist, Garry Moores,Kevin Rogerson and John Kenyon.

Five 3s on Chris Smiths card and a nett 70 gave him the Division One prize, and after a five-way play-of,f Louis Barrett, with three birdies, took second Place.

Mark Young is finding Clitheroe to his liking, with five birdies and 13 pars and a wonderful gross 66, he took third with a nett 71 and returned the lowest gross by a distance.

Another Young, George had a better return leg than Denis Greenup and Geoff Duxbury to take fourth with the same score.

David J. Brown made his presence known when he took the Division Two prize with his nett 71, but only after cards with Chris Brennan and Richard Walsham.

New member Andrew Wright is sliding down the Handicap List in spite of a 10 on the second, he recovered well to take fourth place with a nett72.

Keith Underwood is showing early season form and his nett 70 was good enough to win Division Three.

John Greenwood had a cracking front nine but eased off on the return leg to finish one behind in second place, and Dave Woodworth kept his shape on the run in for a creditable 73 for third.

The ladies are finding the heavy going, difficult and a number of them had to be pulled up before completing the Ladies’ Medal.

Tracey Bentley showed some bottle with a birdie on the 12th and three pars to finish and take the Division One prize.

Sue Cartledge slipped into second place just one shot off the pace and Val Fairless produced her best scores on the front nine then held on for third place.

Marilyn Fletcher and Michelle Fielding traded blow for blow for fourth place and finished with the same nett scores. Fletcher claiming victory after cards, and Eileen Baron followed them in with the same return.

A lovely par on the tricky 17th and Pam Lavery took Division Two with a three-shot margin over four Ladies on 80.

Jane Hoyle headed the quartet for second place ahead of Gail Clifford, Debra Wood and Pat Brennan.

Division Three went to the fast finishing Gwen Maudsley after countback with Glenda Heanan.

Michelle Fielding’s birdie on the 17th was the only two on the day so she scooped the kitty.

Elizabeth Birtwell won the Ladies’ 9-Hole Stableford with 16 points and after cards, Carolyn Cort took second ahead of Nancy Mortimer with the same 14 points.

On Grand National day, 54 runners and riders competed in the Single Stableford Competition at Whalley.

The much-fancied Phil Campbell and Dick Ferley were only placed this week after winning rides in less benign conditions the previous week.

Chris Summer was first past the post with 39 points, beating Dan Liles by a nose with 38 points.

Phil Campbell came in with 36 points off his handicap of four.

Ben Graves won the Second Division with 37 points, followed closely on the rails by John Sherry with 35 points.

Dick Ferley stumbled at the last, missing a two foot putt to be placed on 34 points.

There were twos for Peter Fletcher, Trevor Thornber (2), Dan Liles and John Sherry.

Un-Texas-like weather greeted Mytton Fold’s golfers as they played in Saturday’s Texas Scramble.

Gusty wind and heavy showers made for challenging golfing conditions as a healthy field battled it out at the OK Corral.

High Noon saw Keith Fitzhenry, Barrie Walmsley and Steve Cunliffe emerge victorious with a healthy nett 59.08, a very creditable score given the conditions.

To come second best in a shootout is potentially disastrous; however Nigel Fairhurst, John Berry and Steve Korab emerged relatively unscathed with a nett 59.24.

Third team home were the early dawn chorus of past captain Phil Hammond, returning Chris Wilson and club captain Peter Main with a nett 59.62.

In the ladies’ April Stableford it was a runaway win for Brenda Griffith, whose 41 points was the class of the field.

Brenda finished some seven points ahead of her nearest rival, Hazel Sellars, with Judith Kay taking the final podium position with 33 points.

Hazel Sellars took her revenge in the ladies’ 9-hole stableford event with a very creditable 22 points beating Jean Havard into second spot.

It was a noisy affair when the winner was announced for the men’s April stableford as Clitheroe Town Crier, Roland Halewood, took top spot with 30 points.

Phil Chadwick pushed Roland all the way, finishing just one point in arrears. Jack Wilson completed the top three, again just missing out by a point behind Phil.