Sam Cowan wins Algarve competition at Mytton Fold Golf Club

Mytton Fold's Managing Director, Carole Maher, checks Sam's passport.
Mytton Fold's Managing Director, Carole Maher, checks Sam's passport.

HELD in Mediterranean-like weather, Mytton Fold Golf Club’s fantastic Algarve competition produced a new winner on Saturday.

Sam Cowan finished first with an excellent 85-19-66 to take the prize of a fully-funded golfing holiday in the Algarve, courtesy of Mytton Fold Great Western Hotel and Golf Complex. Sam, who will be taking a fellow Mytton Fold member as his guest, was overwhelmed at his success.

Second was Martin Holden - his 87-20-67 was just one shot behind the winner.

Leigh Canipa (93-25-68) was third with Glynn Watson (79-10-69) carding the lowest gross for the day in fourth spot.

There were just two twos, with Gary Keogh and Ray Standring birdying the first.

On Sunday the club ran a Texas Scramble. Matt Ainsworth, Mick Walsh and Mike Mahon (71-11.52-59.48) won with a near two-point gap to second placed president David Hargreaves, Tony Cross and Peter Kiddie (71-9.62-61.38). Just missing out on the runners-up spot were captain John Berry, David Clegg and Jan Van Boeckel, who were just five hundredths of a point in arrears.

The ladies’ competitions for April have been completed, with Doreen Hammond winning the 9-hole Stableford competition, one point ahead of Linda Clegg, Marian Gradwell and Gillian Pinder. Lady captain Jean Havard won the 18-hole Stableford competition following a card play-off with Judith Kay and Pauline White.

Mytton Fold’s Seniors held their Spring Away Days at the Hill Valley golf complex in Shropshire. Organiser Bill Whalley attracted a field of 32 of Mytton’s finest to compete for a long list of trophies.

An orange ball accompanied each group on the first day and it was the leading group of captain John Berry, president David Hargreaves, Harold Foster and Frank Havard who not only returned the ball, but also amassed 27 points to win. Several groups tried to replicate this feat, but lost the intimidating ball in the pond in front of the final green.

A secret draw selected the constituents of the winning team on the second day, with Eddie Bootle, Dave Jackson, Baz Hargreaves and Garry Davies receiving the plaudits and liquid rewards.

The Spring Shield was a two-day affair with combined scores deciding the winner. In a very close-run contest it finally went to a card play-off with Frank Hindle the winner and Mick Walsh runner-up.

The Frank Hargreaves Memorial Trophy is always a hard-fought competition. Barry Hargreaves scored an impressive 36 points to take Division One, while Mick Walsh secured Division Two with his 35 points.

Dave Bolton took nearest the pin on the first day. David Hargreaves was the first on the score sheet. Frank Hindle was the victor in this prize category on the second day.

• THEY thought it was all over when the two Peters, Pedder and Woods, scored a massive 26 points on the front nine of Clitheroe Golf Club’s Fourball at the weekend, but it took a par, birdie finish from Woods to rescue the leaders as they looked to be floundering on the run in. Four for four on the 18th gave them a one-point advantage over a trio of competitors on 43.

Paul Traynor and Graeme Edmondson dropped only one shot on the back nine in their 43 to make them runners-up ahead of David Heesom and Philip Lamb.

Lamb did most of the spadework, but Heesom’s strong finish just gave them the edge over Andrew and Robert Bennie after cards.

Andrew Fish and Paul Walmsley just missed out with 42 points ahead of Timothy Jackson-Smith/Ralph Postlethwaite team with the same total.

Sunday’s Single Stableford resulted in a four-way play-off for the Division One prizes, all with 38 points. After a quiet start Tim Stanley came home in one under to clinch first place and leave Garry Speak in second .

Steady Geoff Crowther made few mistakes to claim third place and Jonathan Dugdale was fourth with the same score.

Giles Shaw caught the big one in Division Two with an impressive 40 points. A birdie on the first set Shaw up nicely, and even after a blob on the tricky par three 17th, he recovered with a three-pointer on the last to take home the spoils.

Wayne Townley was just one off the pace with a solid 39 points, and Dave Kitson, with a remarkable back nine, took third place from Trevor Jones, after cards, with the same 38 point score. Keith Wallbank proved to be the best of the rest with 37 points.

The junior section played two rounds of the Easter Medal and Callum Darcy carded a 84-22-62 to win the first with a three-shot margin over Jack Mercer, who took second, and James Banks was third with his nett 68. James and Will Kenyon shared the twos sweep. William Kenyon continued his good form when he took the second round with his 84-20-64 score. A six-shot advantage over five handicap star golfer Tom Forrest. Louis Barrett with a nett 71 took third place.

• THE first Summer Medal, which doubled up as a qualifying round for the ELGA Handicap Trophy, was held at Stonyhurst Park Golf Club on Sunday.

The winner, David Procter, managed a remarkable score of 84–22–62, with the runner-up, John Simpson, posting 81–18–63.

Alongside David and John, the final two players representing SPGC at Marsden Park on May 7th will be Greg Aspinall, who finished with 88–21–67, and Steve Clash with 76–8–68, this also happened to be the lowest gross score of the day.

• AT Whalley on Friday, the Lady Captain’s Team beat the Lady Secretary’s Team 5-3. Saturday saw members of Whalley Golf Club compete in the first major competition of the season - The Frank Longworth Trophy. The champion, having his name etched on the board, is Donald Blanch with a fine three under par 80-11-69. Division One winner was John Rostron 81-11-70, runner-up Andy Wray 72-1-71; Division Two winner Bruce Stewart 86-16-70 cpo, runner-up John Hyde 88-18-70; Division Three winner Dave Westwood 94-22-72, runner-up David Brown 94-19-75. The Best Gross went to Miles Wade with 75. The Veterans’ prize went to Chris Davies with 87-14-73. There were six recorded twos for Arron Ripley, Colin Elliot, Gary Meakin, Will Lancaster, Peter Davey and David Brown.