Rovers claim the bragging rights!

Ian Battersby receives the McIlroy-Douglas Trophy from footballing legends Jimmy McIlroy and Bryan Douglas
Ian Battersby receives the McIlroy-Douglas Trophy from footballing legends Jimmy McIlroy and Bryan Douglas
Share this article

Burnley fans may be cock-a-hoop at the prospect of Premier League football, but they were distinctly downcast at Clitheroe Golf Club when they lost out to rival supporters of Blackburn Rovers in the inaugural McIlroy-Douglas Cup competition on Tuesday.

The idea to pitch the two sets of supporters among the golf club members against each other was the brainchild of club captain Simon Raine, himself a Claret, but it was the 24-man Rovers team that ran out winners on the day by nine wins to three in the fourball better ball matches.

The matches were played over the course prepared for the Open Golf Regional Qualifier, with the golfers playing the same tee and pin positions that had faced the top quality field the previous day.

Raine welcomed the players to a presentation dinner following the conclusion of the competition and paid tribute to the principal guests of honour, Burnley and Rovers legends Jimmy McIlroy and Bryan Douglas, who presented the trophy to Ian Battersby, the winning captain.

Meanwhile, Tim Stanley took the Captain’s Prize with a magnificent gross 71/nett 65.

Clive Wood came back in level par to win Division One with his 75-7-68, and Mike Gibson was the best of four on 69.

A triple bogey on the 7th and it looked like curtains for plus one Andrew Heesom but four birdies and 13 pars gave Heesom the best gross.

Club newcomer George Riding was the surprise package in Division Two when he won the Captain’s Prize with an impressive 83-17-66, with a two-shot margin over Stephen Law and Mayor Mike Ranson.

Denis Underwood was centimeters away from the pin on the 17th to win a prize and Brian Stokes found the line with the straightest drive.

Ralph Postlethwaite won Sunday’s Stableford. Two birdies to start and two to finish for 39 points, one more than Alex Rigby. Edmund Preedy missed out on two holes but still scored 36.

Andrew Beesley topped Division One after countback with Nigel Clowes and John Barber on 33.

Alf England won Division two ahead of Dieno George and Tim Fagan pinched Division Three from Alan Hacking.

Chris Sims was third after cards from Keith Wallbank.

Lady Captain won the Ladies’ 9-Hole Stableford on countback ahead of Gill Wightman.

In the Ladies’ Jane Panter Shield, back to back birdies on 4 and 5 set Jean Holt up for a winning nett 67, but Dorothy Dady was only one shot away.

Deborah Catlow with four birdies had the best gross and third nett after cards.

The cream came to the top in the Ladies’ EWGA Medal as Chris Stokes’ 78-4 and a lovely level par 74 took the prize.

Emma Clegg was four under after nine and looking good. 77-1-76 gave Clegg the lowest gross and second nett.

Michelle Fielding’s nett 77 put her in third.

• Brenda Pickup (100-28-72) won the EG Medal at Wilpshire Golf Club on Tuesday from Emy Eceret-Burgess (95-21-74).