Ribble Valley win county crown

Junior Schools' Finals Day at Clitheroe Cricket Club
Junior Schools' Finals Day at Clitheroe Cricket Club
Share this article

For the second time in three years, Ribble Valley District Under 15s won the County Championship in style, chasing Salford’s 187 all out.

Charlie Dewhurst (5-23) and Callum Birtwell-Jones (3-24) did the damage with the ball.

Will Wrathall rode his luck with a match-winning 80 not out, but was superbly supported by Dewhurst (27) and Jonathan Richardson (25) as the boys reached 191-7 with 10 overs to spare.

On the way they beat previous champions Bury in the quarter-finals, Sefton District in the semi-finals.

Meanwhile, 12 local schools competed in a junior school cricket finals day.

The teams were placed in three leagues, with the champions and qualifier from the leagues being Salesbury CE, Pendle Primary, Mellor CE, and St Leonard’s Lango CE.

The four qualifying teams played in the semi-finals at Clitheroe Cricket Club.

Salesbury beat Langho and Pendle beat Mellor.

So the final was held between Salesbury and Pendle, and Salesbury emerged victotious.

Medals were presented by Clitheroe chairman Robin Sharp.

Excellent cricket was played, and super sportsmanship shown during the course of the afternoon.