Ribble Valley golf round-up

Share this article

John Parkinson donned his wet weather golf glove and promptly won this week’s Winter Singles competition at Mytton Fold Golf Club.

Playing off a winter-adjusted handicap of just eight shots, John’s 34 points over the shortened 16-hole course was enough to beat off the rest of the rain-dampened competitors.

Steve Worrall took second spot with 31 points, just beating Dave Clegg on a card play-off, while Tony Wilson whispered his way to fourth with 30 points.

In the ladies’ section it was a winter win for Allison Nuttall with 25 points, with Hazel Sellars and Tarja Wilson taking the remaining podium positions.

There was equality abound when the two’s pot was shared by John Berry at the 11th and Hazel Sellars at the final hole.

The Winter Pairs is into its second week, and more new pairings came to the fore.

Top scorers with 34 points this week were Tony Wilson/Frank Havard and Barrie Walmsley/Keith Fitzhenry.

Last week’s winners, Nick Avino/Martin Holden were just one point behind.

Mytton Fold has now completed its summer knockout competitions.

In the Men’s Singles (Division One) competition it was a win for Tony Cross, who beat Bob Devine in the final.

Luke Chadwick and Steve Korab were the unlucky semi-finalists.

In the Division Two Men’s Singles, Ashley Clayton took the title, beating Martin Holden into second spot.

Nick Avino and Steve Rusyn were the respective semi-finalists in this category.

The winner of the final of the Senior Men’s section was Bernard Downes, who beat Graham Plant on the first extra hole after a halved match which ebbed and flowed throughout.

Beaten semi-finalists were Frank Hindle and Mick Bryant.

The Men’s Doubles was won by Daniel and Tom Steele, who beat Patrick Ashworth and Zac Ashworth in the final.

Beaten semi-finalists were Wayne Ivinson/John Welch and Bob Devine/Luke Chadwick.

The Men’s Senior Doubles was disrupted by injuries, but the final outcome was that the winning team was that of Dave Clegg and Kevin Shanley.

Runners-up were Captain Gordon Lucas/ Steve Brooks, while semi-finalists were the pairings of Tony Wilson/Tony Wade and Graham Plant/Baz Hargreaves.

In the Ladies’ Singles it was a win for Abbie Clegg, who beat Lady Captain Patricia Leyland in the final.

The Ladies’ Doubles was won by Allison Nuttall and Jean Sanderson, while the Mixed Doubles was won by the pairing of Nigel Fairhurst/Lady Captain Elect Doreen Hammond, who beat Captain Gordon Lucas and Lady Captain Patricia Leyland in the final.

The Midweek Order of Merit was won by Phil Chadwick, with Graham Slater runner-up.

Whalley Golf Club hosted their Annual Men’s Dinner, where all the achievements of the last 12 months were honoured by the club with a meal and prize presentation.

There were various winners throughout the year and most of them are pictured above.

Pictured, from left, are Dave Flanagan (Whalley Golf Club Chairman), Mike Conroy - Hitchen Trophy champion, Daniel Jones - Brandreth Rosebowl champion, Terry Pike, Stuart Andrews - Spring Trophy champion, Colin Elliot, Richard Robinson - Fourball Knockout champions, James Kennerley, Steve Shoreman - Long Handicap Trophy champions, Peter Fletcher - Winter League champion, Mike Fletcher - President’s Putter champion, Centenary Captain John Heap, Centenary President Nick Williamson (s).

A big thank you to everyone who made the effort to attend.

A fantastic evening was had by all and it was a fitting way to end the club’s Centenary year.