Ribble Valley golf round-up

editorial image
Share this article

Whalley Golf Club has staged its Centenary Captain’s Drive In.

The Centenary Captain John Heap (pictured) had dry, mild conditions to drive in his tenure, and the single figure handicapper ripped his inaugural drive straight down the first fairway, measured at over 250 yards. The conditions held throughout the day and even got better as the day went on, it was no surprise then the better scoring came from players teeing off later on in the day. The winner on the day with an amazing seven under par knock was Daniel Jones 80-15-65, second with an also impressive round of four under was Tom Orrell 86-18-68, and third with a solid effort Alan Strange 88-18-70. There were seven recorded two’s going to D Jones, M Conroy, J Storey, G McFarlane, D Liles, R Andrew, L McCormick.

With superb weather and perfect playing conditions, lady captain of Whalley Golf Club, Ann Pollard, also drove into office.

The competition of the day was a 9-hole Stableford, teams of four with two scores to count. The winning team, with an excellent score of 52 points, was Marion Chambers, Sarah Clemson, Betty Rostron and Janet Sharp. The four ladies were presented with prizes from lady captain.

Captain Ann, who plays off a handicap of 21 has been a member since 1983 and was also lady captain in 1994. At that time the club was much smaller with only 48 lady members. The club now has a thriving lady membership of 84. Ann is also a keen bridge player.

Her chosen charity for this year is Pendleside Hospice and she has worked there as a volunteer for over four years.

As this is Whalleys Golf Club’s Centenary year, the lady captain is looking forward to a busy and exciting year with a variety of social events and competitions planned throughout the year.

Ann is pictured preparing to drive-in as lady captain surrounded by lady members (s).

l AT Clitheroe, a Ladies’ Five-Club, Two-Division, 18-hole Stableford competition was held.

The Division One winner was Michelle Fielding with 36 points, and Division Two winner was Gillian Eddlestone with 39 points

l THE Men’s Texas Scramble at Stonyhurst Park Golf Club on Saturday was won by Steve Clash, Lawrence Parry, Karl Hargreaves and new member Mark Knight with a combined score of 58.

Clash took the part of the last man hero in this group, rescuing his team on many occasions with his close control and delicate touch.

In spite of having to take Karl Hargreaves’ drive on the last short par 3 hole where he had to lay up before the ditch, his team rallied to save par on the hole and close out the competition. Close runners-up with 58.4 were Men’s Captain, Tony Lee, Graham Monk, Bob Driver and Andrew Driver.

On Sunday, the club held its formal celebration to welcome Lady Captain Janet Halfpenney and Men’s Captain Tony Lee into office.

Over 100 members and guests enjoyed a magnificent buffet lunch prepared and served by College staff in the atmospheric Stonyhurst College Top Refectory, under the watchful gaze of the paintings of the seven former-Stonyhurst College Victoria Cross winners.

The captains thanked all members and guests for their support and lady captain presented gifts to Val Fairless and Janette Dowdy to recognise their achievement in sweeping the board at the recent East Lancashire Golf Association rules quiz.

In addition to the pair winning the team trophy, Val won the prestigious individual winner’s cup.

l THE ladies of Mytton Fold Golf Club took advantage of the recent good weather when holding their Spring Away Day event at Carus Green Golf Club.

The winner of this stableford event with 37 points was Jean Sanderson with runner-up Tarja Wilson sneaking home by card play-off from third place Judith Kay.

In slightly cooler but still very pleasant conditions, they then tackled one of the clubs’ major events on Sunday in the Inaugural Lady Captains Day, played in medal format.

Jean Sanderson once again led the field home with a net 74 while Abbie Clegg’s back 9 score placed her second with a net 79, followed by Allison Nuttall and Lady Captain; Patricia Leyland on the same score.

The men turned out in force in their version of this event with a field of 64 contesting the honours.

Playing off a handicap of 10 Phil Clegg lifted the trophy with a net 69, a shot ahead of Gary Aldred, with Mike Mahon taking the final podium position with a 71 beating division winners David Clegg and Paddy Ashworth on a card play off.

Four two’s were recorded on the day with Allison Nuttall ensuring that the men did not take all spoils when sinking her putt on the first and sharing the overall pool with Zac Ashworth (1st), Gary Aldred (9th) and club treasurer Frank Tunstall (18th).

Spot prize winners were Jean Davies- straightest drive and David and Abbie Clegg – nearest the pin in two.

The Inaugural Lady Captain, Pauline White, presented the awards before an official evening meal served in the hotel.