Rain fails to dampen lady captain’s event!

editorial image
Share this article

Mytton Fold Golf Club’s lower handicap golfers came to the fore to take the top spots in Sunday’s Lady Captain’s Day Competition.

On a day plagued by heavy and persistent rain, Phil Hammond, playing off six, took the win, and a new trophy, when he came home with an outstanding 40 points. Just two points behind, and also playing off six, came Wayne Ivinson. Both now move up to Category One status.

Stephen Rusyn finished in the final podium position when he carded 37 points, just ahead of Division One winner Steve Worrell after a card play-off. Peter Kiddie took fifth and the Division Two win with 36 points.

In the Ladies’ section, Linda Clegg took top spot, and the trophy, with 36 points. Allison Nuttall came in runner up with 33 points and Abbie Clegg was third with 32.

The Juniors’ Section was won by Harry Crossley, who carded a very creditable 35 points in the appalling weather conditions. Kyle Furlong was just two points behind in second, while Shaun Aldred came in third with 29 points.

In the Twos competition, it was a four-way split, with Matt Walsh and Barry Hargreaves birdying the first, while Sam Cowan and (Jnr) Harry Crossley did likewise at the ninth.

Several spot prizes were on offer, with second-placed Ivinson taking the longest drive on the 14th, while Ray Standring was closest to the pin in two at the fifth hole.

For the ladies, Doreen Hammond was nearest the pin at the first, and Clegg was nearest the pin in two at the 269 yard 11th hole.

At the well-supported presentation, Lady Captain Jean Havard thanked all those who had contributed making the day so successful.

• THE highlight of a wet and windy weekend at Clitheroe Golf Club was the 36-hole Competition for the prestigious Tom Morris Putter.

Denis Greenup took home the Trophy after two impressive rounds.

Saturdays First Round saw Greenup take second place in Division One with a 74-5-69 return, just one shot behind Michael Cerami. The in-form Anthony McGibbon matched Greenup’s 69 but had to settle for third place after cards.

Meanwhile Stephen Dean came with a late burst - a back nine of 37 with two birdies in the bag and a nett 70.

Jeffrey Crowther headed the also rans with the same score.

Peter Dunn headed Division Two after another tight finish. Dunn got the better of a three way card play-off with Ken Mantle and Dieno George, all on 71 nett. Dieno’s seven on the 18th cost him top spot.

Nigel Schofield completed his round with a late flourish, level par on the last five, for a 72 and fourth place.

• Sunday’s Second Round saw Tony Flanagan out in 36 and back in 36 for a winning total of 72-4-68. Ralph Postlethwaite only dropped one shot on the return leg to take the runners up spot with a nett 69 after cards with Greenup.

Alan Houghton added an impressive second round total of 71 to top the Division Two Board ahead of Garry Moores, who settled nicely after a birdie/triple bogey start for a nett 72. Garry Clarkson took third place after cards with the same score.

The final result showed Greenup as overall winner with his 138 nett score, a two shot margin over the plucky Dean.

Flanagan was third with a one shot margin over Postletwaite and Houghton filled the final prize place with his nett143.

Mark Ashworth took time out to win Division One of the season’s first Midweek Medal but only after a countback with Richard Lowery and playing partner Granville Pilling, all carding nett 71s

Pete Foley’s 83-14-69 return found him two shots clear of Douglas Woodburn to win Division Two and David Holmes was happy in third with his nett 73.

Brian Stokes was looking like the winner in the Seniors’ Stableford after a nice birdie on the 10th but nil points on the dreaded 17th left him one shot off Jim Cameron and Steve Cunliffe who took the first two prizes with 34 points.

Stokes settled in third ahead of Alex Rigby and Alf England all with the same total.

Round Two of the Junior Spring Championship was a triumph for Louis Barrett. Nett 68 was just one too good for the consistent Jack Mercer, whose 81-12-69 gave him second prize in Division One, a two-shot margin over George Young in third.

Another George, Nightingale,was clear winner of Division Two with his nett 67 and Ben Dowds took the nine hole competition prize with 17 points.

• THIS week saw members of Whalley Golf Club compete for The Millennium Trophy and Long Handicap Trophy. The treacherous conditions made shot selection almost impossible. The course was playing at least three shots harder than normal with Course Standard Scratch moving to 74 on the day. The Millennium Trophy was claimed by Mike Conroy with an impressive level par 78-6-72. The Long Handicap Trophy went to K Bolton with another good round of 94-22-72. The Divisional winners were - Division One, President Nick Williamson (85-12-73), Division Two, Danny Jones (91-16-75), Division Three, Jeremy Wade (94-19-75). The best gross went to Rob Andrew with 78. The veterans’ prize went to John Rostron with 86-10-76. There were three recorded two’s on the day, for David Wetton, Danny Jones and Rob Andrew.

The Mixed Greensomes Team Open at Whalley on Sunday was won by Clive Rees, Jane Smedley, Trevor Thornber and Bridget Rees with 48 points from Mel Earle, Lesley Lohou, and James and Joyce Andrew with 47. Third were Mike and Agnes Seery and Andrew and Vivien Rigby with 40. The Scott Leggatt Foursomes were won by Kath James and Linda Rhodes with 33 points, four clear off Lesley Lohou and Viv Patterson. Pat Richards and Tricia Marshall were third with 28.