Phil has the edge in thrilling finale!

Captain Tom Calder (left) presenting the Captain's Trophy to Phil Jungnickel.
Captain Tom Calder (left) presenting the Captain's Trophy to Phil Jungnickel.
Share this article

The 2013 Stonyhurst golf season teed off at the College’s nine-hole course with the much anticipated Captain’s Trophy.

Young golfers from all year groups at the Ribble Valley school took part after watching sixth-former Tom Calder drive into office as the Captain of the Golf Society.

In the most thrilling finale in the history of the event, there was an unprecedented extra-hole play-off for the trophy after Phil Jungnickel (Year 10) and Matt Radley (Year 12) had recorded identical scores.

Phil beat the older student by one shot on the extra hole; Matt just missed the putt that would have sent the pair into a second play-off! Austrian Phil became the first year 10 winner.

Two major club competitions were played at Stonyhurst last weekend, both supported by the club chairman.

On Saturday, the Ladies’ Rosebowl was won by Lady Captain-Elect Jan Walker with a nett 69, ahead of Gill McDonnell after a card play-off.

Best gross score was Linda Ashworth with 95 after a card play-off. Lady Captain, Audrey Barnes, was nearest the pin and ex-Ladies’ Captain Carolyn Blockell had the longest drive.

On Sunday the Chairman’s Chalice, a Strokeplay Competition, was won by Mike Kerrigan with a 68 after a three-way card play-off with John Hodkinson runner-up and Simon Tipton in third place.

• In glorious conditions , the ladies of Whalley competed in a Stableford Competition, which included a trophy for the best score by a high handicapper on Thursday.

All top four players came in with 32 points, but after a count-back, Chris Thurston was the winner of the High Handicap Trophy, with Patricia Bradley second.

Maureen Board won the competition, with Jean Sanderson second .

• Mytton Fold Golf Club Treasurer Frank Tunstall, won the club’s round of the English Golf Union Medal with an outstanding nett 67.

A fine 80-13-67 took the honours and the Gold medal awarded by the English Golf Union.

Close behind was the in-form Gary Aldred whose nett 69 took him to the head of the Order of Merit.

Third-placed John Parkinson (82-12-70) just squeezed out Steve Worrall (89-19-70) on a card play-off.

There were five twos, with Nigel Fairhurst and Jan Van Boeckel birdying the first and Peter Main, Garry Davies and Steve Korab all doing likewise on the ninth.

In the ladies’ Francis Smith Qualifier, Judith Kay took the win with a nett 73 with Allison Nuttall second, just two behind on nett 75.