Phil Campbell night at Whalley awards!

Prize night: Whalley Golf Club
Prize night: Whalley Golf Club
Share this article

It was presentation night at Whalley Golf Club on Friday (pictured, s), and it could have been named Phil Campbell night as he never really got time to settle in his seat.

Phil ran out of speeches due to picking up several major trophies, rounding off a great return to the club.

A good night was had by all, and a big thanks goes out to all the people involved in behind the scenes activity.

On Saturday, the Hangover Stakes was won by A. Moore (95-26-69) from K. Moore (84-12-72) and R. Ferley (97-25-72).

There were only two two’s, for M. Crabtree and J. Heap.

It all chequed out for Mytton Fold Golf Club’s Treasurer, Frank Tunstall when he won the Winter Singles.

Having carded a nett 53 using his winter handicap of 12, he was joined by Nigel Fairhurst and Jim Bridge on nett 53, however Frank’s better back half gave him the win ahead of Nigel, with Jim in third.

Just one shot behind were Dave Griffith, Club Captain Phil Hammond and Mick Mahon who again needed card play-offs to sort their final positions and league points.

The final four to secure league points were Kevin Shanley, Eoghan Gilbert, Dave Bolton and John Parkinson who all carded nett 57s.

There was a rash of twos, for Nigel Fairhurst, Mick Mahon, Richard Greaves, Gary Ashton, Phil Hammond, Dave Griffith and Frank Hindle.

In the Winter Pairs, Dave Griffith and Steve Worrall were top scorers with 40 points, one clear of Nigel Fairhurst and Gary Ashton and Frank Hindle and Mick Mahon.

Kath Lobell enjoyed the challenge of playing with the Spice Girls in Clitheroe Golf Club’s 9-Hole Turkey Shoot.

19 points, including a four-point birdie on the third and Lobell took home the Alan Hacking-sponsored Turkey.

Playing Partner Marilyn Fletcher had four pars in her 18-point total to claim the Division One prize after cards with Susan Gibson.

Carole Brown took the Division Two Prize with a two-point margin over Patricia Rees.

A tidy finish by Jacqui Bury put her top of a trio on 16 points to win the Fowl Prize for Division Three after cards with Trudy Walne and Vicky Nuttall.

The only two went to Pat Brennan.

Mark Ashworth won the season’s final Stableford with 40 points, one ahead of Nigel Clowes, with three on 38.

Colin Barker was third after countback with Mark Jones and John Hacking.

Craig Allison won Division One with 38 points.

Andrew Heesom’s 37 points gave him second place after cards with Ethan Cambridge and Jeff Crowther.

The Division Two winner was Stephen Law with 38 points, and Nigel Fitton’s 37 beat Garry Moore’s 37 with a better back nine.

Neil Cronin topped the Division Three Leader Board with 35 points ahead of old hands Peter Warburton and Keith Wallbank.