Nigel beats the wind to take trophy at Clitheroe

Golf news
Golf news
Share this article

The blustery conditions proved no problem to Nigel Clarke at Clitheroe Golf Club on Saturday when his round of 94-25- 69 was good enough to win the Peter Geddes Memorial Trophy.

Steve Lambert took second spot with a score of 88-18- 70 after a card play-off with David Fearnley Brown. The Divisional winners were Nigel Clowes and Trevor Jones.

Sunday’s Fourball Betterball went to Matthew Garner and Garreth Sutcliffe whose 42 points proved one better than the runners-up Benjamin and David Proos.

A midweek medal was won by Andrew Driver whose score of 76-10- 66 was four shots better than second place Andrew Blockeel on 74-04- 70 after a card play-off with Mark Jones.

The ladies competed for the Jane Panter Shield on Thursday when Elizabeth Birtwell came home with the best score of 103-29- 74, two better than the runner-up Val Fairless on 93-17- 76.

A nine hole Stableford was won by Rosemary Sims with 17 points from Jean Anne Speak on 15 points after a card play-off with Nancy Mortimer. The winners of a Two Division Stableford on Tuesday were Sheila Cornwell, 35 points (Division One) and Judith Lamb 32 points (Division Two).

The Juniors were in action last Sunday when Boh Greenwood won the Junior Captain’s Day with his score of 84-14- 66.