Mytton Fold President goes ace!

editorial image
Share this article

“A sweetly struck six iron from the Blue Course Tee, always in line with the pin,” was how President Peter Clayton described his first-ever hole in one on the fifth at Clitheroe Golf Club last Saturday.

Partnering Geoff Cartledge, the President’s four-pointer just failed to put them in the prizes when they finished with 36 points in the Fourball betterball for the Nettleton Trophy.

Sponsor Matthew Nettleton and playing partner, Ken Mantle posted an impressive 41 points, but lost out on top spot to Alex Cave and Gary Thompson after countback.

Daniel and Dominic Preedy had 39 points for third place.

Andrew Fish took the Division One prize in Sunday’s Single Stableford.

Thomas Barry had the same 37 points for second after cards.

Richard Pickup’s 37 points won the Division Two prize, with Chris Thorpe second with 35.

Garry Moores won the seniors’ first Stableford with 39 points, with Phil Walmsley one shot adrift.

The ladies’ Foursomes Stableford and Scott Leggatt Qualifier last Thursday was won by Val Fairless and Cath Podevyn with 35 points.

Elizabeth Birtwell and Judy Woolley claimed second place ahead of Tracey Bentley and Barbara Thornton.

Louis Barratt won the first two Junior Medals and Louis Walsh took the nine hole prize with 25 points.

Stage three went to George Nightingale with a cracking 89-9-75 return and Harrison Thomas won the nine hole.

Sam Geddes came good with an impressive 78-7-71 winning score last week, and Simon Dowds won the nine-hole Stableford with 20 points.

Today, from 1 p.m., Clitheroe host a Company Golf day.

Over 120 golfers from various companies will be taking part, with at least one from each team a member at Clitheroe.

Greenacre Honda are sponsoring a Hole in One on the 17th tee, and if someone goes ace, they will win a car.

At Stonyhurst Park, a group of players braved the weather on Sunday to play in the Club Hall of Fame Stapleford competition.

The winner, who goes through to the next round against other clubs in County Durham, was competition secretary Jim Walker with 37 points, after a card play-off.

Runner-up was John Hodkinson, and in third place was Keith Wiggins from Hurst Green with 35 points.

Last Sunday saw the ladies of Whalley Golf Club competing in their first Sunday EWGA Medal of the season, which was won by Jean Sanderson with a score of 92-20-72.

Thursday was an LLCGA Club Qualifier/Handicap and Bronze Competition, and a club Stableford Competition, won by Karen Thompson with 96-19-77, ahead of Vivian Lee (113-35-78) and Linda Rhodes with 105-27-78.

The Stableford competition was won by Caroline Davey with 21 points .

Saturday saw 68 of the men at Whalley competing for the prestigious Fourball Trophy.

It has been a competition at Whalley for over 60 years, and worthy winners were veteran dynamic duo Chris Blackadder and former captain and president Chris Davies with 42 points, beating the runners-up, Bob Devine and Danny Rogers, on countback.