Matt is the ultimate champion at Mytton Fold

editorial image
Share this article

Matt Oakley rounded off the season at Mytton Fold Golf Club with another outstanding round of golf to be crowned the champion of champions.

In a double-header competition winners of this season’s events faced off against each other and in parallel those who had failed to make the winners’ circle played for the Duffer’s Cup.

Matt (80-15-65) chalked up yet another win with Sam Raynor (87-21-66) chomping at his heels to take the Duffer’s Cup.

To round off the ‘new boys’, Brad Hodgeson (84-18-66) finished third, just missing out on a card playoff.

Two back came Division One winner Steve Worrall (82-14-68) and Division Two winner Angus Barr (95-27-68).

Wayne Ivinson had a huge smile on his face, carding the only ‘two’ of the day, birdying the ninth and netting the whole of the Twos Pot.

With the results declared it’s no surprise that Matt heads the Order of Merit by a country mile with 96 points, some sixteen ahead of Brad Hodgeson.

In the men’s mid-week competition Chris Quinn finished top of the pack ahead of Graham Slater.

Gary Aldred was crowned Division One champion in the men’s singles competitions, beating runner-up Phil Chadwick.

Dave Pennington fought off competition from Sam Rayner to earn the title of Division Two supremo while Dave Westwood won the men’s singles in the senior category.

Meanwhile, Ray Standring and Dave Griffith fought off Martin Holden and Nick Avino to take the men’s doubles prize while Richard Greaves and Steve James combined to good effect in the men’s senior doubles competition.

Brenda Griffith sealed the ladies’ singles championship while Carole Maher partnered up with club captain Mick Bryan to win the mixed doubles.

Elsewhere, two birdies in the last three holes helped Keith Allen to secure victory in the final of the “Advertiser & Times” Trophy played at Clitheroe Golf Club when his score of 39 Stableford points gave him the verdict over Richard Baker, whose three putts at the final hole proved costly in a card play-off.

Ethan Cambridge put together his best competitive round of the season in Saturday’s Medal with a one-under-par score of 70-04-66 to take the first prize, two shots ahead of runner-up Graeme Edmundson on 79-11-68.

Divisional winners were Craig Allison (Division One); Malcolm Goldsworthy (Division Two) and John Greenwood (Division Three).

Peter and Scott Greaves paired up to win Sunday’s Fourball Better Ball with 38 points after a card play-off with Dean Braithwaite and Geoff Sutcliffe and John Gibson and David Short.

The Dewhurst Trophy, awarded to the player with the lowest cumulative score over six rounds, was won by Tom Forrest whose nett 70 score in Saturday’s medal competition improved his six round total by one stroke to take the prize with a score of 415, just one better than Steve Clash.

Caroline Cherry and Pam Lavery combined well to take the Ladies’ Fourball Betterball Stableford with an impressive total of 49 points, nine points clear of runners-up Gill Eddlestone and Michelle Fielding.

At Whalley Golf Club, Division One winner Ian Wrathall was victorious in the October Stableford competition with 38 points ahead of Paul Wray who finished the day with back-to-back birdies giving him 37 points alongside Colin Elliott.

Division Two winner was in form Jeremy Wade with 36 points, Malcolm Salmon was second with 34 points tied with Chris Kett. Two’s on the day went to Chris Blackadder, David Hanson, Paul Wray, Gareth Hill and Jeremy Wade.

The EG medal winner was Lady Captain Margaret Breakell with 104-34-70 , from Past Lady Captain Sally Blenkinship with 103-27-76 and Anne Prior OBE with 102-25-77.

Gloria Bentley came first in the Stableford competition with 39 points.