Mark takes prize at Clitheroe Golf Clubs Midweek Medal

editorial image
Share this article

Low handicap golfers took all the honours in Clitheroe Golf Clubs Midweek Medal, and Mark Ashworth took top spot with an incredible 66+1=67 nett.

Out in 31 and back in 35 with seven birdies, Ashworth is now plus two.

David Heesom was second with his nett 68.

Granville Pilling is in the form of his life, and after dropping only one shot on the back nine, he took third after cards with a 69.

Pilling featured again in the Open Team Event with birdies at the first and last holes and a smattering of pars in his team’s 85-point total. Steve Ackers,Tony Flannagan and Craig Allison made up the team but they had to concede first place to the Swindells, Byrne, Frodsham, Thomas, quartet who scored 90 points.

Peter Catlow and Michael Cerami (48 points) won the SAAB Trophy by a clear five shots, including six birdies.

David Foster brought Tom Poole home with three birdies and a par in the last five to second place.

Trevor Jones and David Enion also produced 43 points to take third by one shot.

The keenly contested Social Mixed Scramble was a huge success and well supported.

Swamy and Elizabeth Narayana teamed up with Roger and Pat Brennan to win by the narrowest of margins from Jessie Telfer’s team of Hawarth,Ashurst and Read.

Carole Brown, Marilyn Fletcher, Tony McGibbon and David Knowles were third after a card play-off with Harry Baldwin, Kris Baldwin and the Crowthers, Jeff and Barbara.

Young George Young claimed two wins in a week.

Young battled against the elements to win Round Five of the Junior Spring Medal ahead of Sam Geddes and William Patten, and then had a runaway victory in the Midweek Medal with an impressive nett 64.

The Ladies’ third Two Division Midweek Medal last Tuesday saw Jan Burrows (84-9-75) win Division One from Kath Townley (91-13-78) and Chris Stokes (85-5-80).

Division Two was won by Pat Brennan (101-21-80) ahead of Lynda Mercer (104-24-80) and Pat Murray (108-25-83)

Two days later, the EWGA, Past Captains and Frances Smith Qualifier was won by Sheila Cornwell (84-15-69, Frances Smith Qualifier) from Jan Burrows (80-9-71) and Karen Stanworth (90-18-72).

Winner of the Past Captains’ Salver was Marilyn Fletcher (89-14- 75).

The third Stableford Qualifier over nine holes on the same day was won by Jessie Telfer with 17 points, ahead of Anne Panter and Glenda Heanan, both with 16.

KYLE Furlong stole the show at Mytton Fold’s Queen’s Jubilee competition on Sunday.

Playing off a weekly-reducing handicap, Kyle shot an outstanding 40 points to claim the junior trophy.

Sam Cowan won with an excellent 39 points, just beating Mike Chatburn into second place after cards. One point behind came club president David Hargreaves, with secretary Dave Clegg fourth with 37 points.

In the Ladies’ section, lady captain-elect Patricia Leyland came home with 36 points with Doreen Hammond two adrift.

Five players split the pot for the twos. David Hargreaves, John Hammond and captain-elect Gordon Lucas all birdied the first hole, Chris Chadwick the ninth and Pauline White the 18th.

IT was President’s weekend at Stonyhurst Park Golf Club, the President being Larry Crouch, Headmaster of St Mary’s Hall. Unfortunately Larry could not participate due to a cycling accident in Ireland the previous week.

Both ladies and men played Stableford competitions, with Val Fairless winning with 34 points, from Janette Dowdy and Margaret McAllester, both with 33 points.

The men’s competition was won by in-form Adam Hayhurst with 34 points, ahead of Leon Ashworth (31) and Jim Foster (31). Fourth with 30 points was Steve Young, who also won the longest drive and nearest the pin.

Earlier in the week the ladies’ May Medal saw all three winners finish with the same nett score of 77. After analysing cards, Jean Alcock was first, with Margaret Carrington second and Gill McDonnell third.

In ideal golfing weather last Thursday, Whalley Golf Club’s ladies competed in the EWGA Medal.

Margaret Calvert claimed top spot (106-34-72) ahead of Karen Thompson (101-28-73) and Barbara Tuley third (103-30-73).