Mark is Clitheroe’s club champion again!

editorial image
Share this article

Mark Ashworth is club champion at Clitheroe Golf Club again.

Saturday’s competition saw Andrew Heesom on top after a gross 67 which included five birdies and 12 pars.

A one-shot margin over Ashworth disappeared after lunch as Ashworth added a 73 to his 68 to win by seven shots from Danny Nutter.

Ralph Postlethwaite was third after cards.

The Sir Michael Bonallack Seniors Open saw Denis Greenup win the Gross Trophy with a 72, including three twos.

Andrew Walmsley, courtesy of a birdie two on the 17th, won a card play-off with Martyn Senior for the best nett with a 68.

Alan Gillespie was two under after nine and took the second best gross with a 72.

The different age category prizes included rewards for David Heesom, Philip Cort, Mike Gibson and Norman Fielding. The Best Gross for Elder Statesmen went to Jack Simmons and the Best Nett to Brian Stokes.

David Holmes overcame two nines to win the 5th Midweek Medal with a nett 68, and Graeme Edmondson won a card play-off with Simon Swindells for second, both returning nett 70s.

Last Saturday’s Medal was won by Derek McIntyre with his season’s best 83-14-69.

Richard Walsham won a three-card play-off with John Kenyon and Ken Mantle for runners-up spot on nett 71.

Jeff Crowther and Alan Henderson produced a 43 point winning score in Sunday’s fourball Stableford.

Dave Kitson and Damian Durrant took second after cards, with the Preedys, Daniel and Dominic, on 42 points.

James Milligan took the Captain’s Gross Prize for juniors and Callum Darcy had a one-shot margin over Robert Spouse for the Best Nett with his 68. George Young was a furthur shot away in third.

The President’s Day for juniors was won by George Nightingale, and Louis Barrett pipped Thomas Riley for second prize with his nett 70.

Gail Ainsworth won the Lady Captain’s Day Medal after finishing third in the Ladies’ 5th Midweek Medal.

Ainsworth’s nett 72 and a better back nine gave her the edge over Michelle Fielding for Jan Burrows’ Prize and Gillian Eddleston took third with a creditable nett 73.

President Chris Stokes had the best gross.

Elizabeth Barnes scored 18 points to win the nine-hole competition from Charlotte Toms, and Anne Panter took third. Ellen Brown had a two on the fifth.

Kris Baldwin was best in the Midweek Medal but Kath Townley was only one shot away in second place. Gail Ainsworth was third and Gwen Maudsley won Division Two with a sparkling nett 67. Jane Hoyle completed the list with her nett 73 in second spot.

• SATURDAY saw Janette Dowdy’s Lady Captain’s Day at Stonyhurst Park.

Julia Musker won with a 91-19-72, from Jean Gentry (73) and third was Margaret Duckett, also with a 73, on a card play-off.

Best gross on the day came from Linda Ashworth with 86.

In addition, £252 was donated on the day to Breakthrough Beast Cancer.

The ladies also played their June Medal earlier in the week. Val Fairless won with a 99-23-76, second was Carolyn Blockeel with a 79, and third was Ann Hudson with an 80.

The men battled out the Barry Bolton 27-hole competition - Bolton being the long established Head Greenkeeper.

Best nett for nine holes went to Kevin Whyte, best nett for 18 holes went to Chris Thomas and the winner of the Barry Bolton Trophy was Jim Walker. Best gross was secured by Steve Clash.

• JUST a week after completing a four-rounds-in-one-day charity marathon, Mytton Fold captain John Berry swept all before him when he became this year’s Club Champion.

The two-day medal competition put John (76 and 78 gross) three shots clear of Chris Chadwick. Chris was just one shot behind John at the end of the first day, but lost a further two on Sunday to card two excellent rounds for 157.

Phil Hammond’s card showed that he had shot a consistent 81 on both days to take the final podium position.

In the junior section, Kyle Furlong shot an excellent 73 and 68 to win from Shaun Aldred (74+84) and Harry Crossley (82+78).

Berry shot to the head of the nett leaderboard on Saturday to win with 76-10-66, ahead of Dave Bolton (81-13-71). Tony Wilson was third following a card playoff with 81-10-71.

Sunday saw reversed seeding with the leaders on the course later in the morning. The nett score competition was won by Martin Holden with a 88-19-69. Two shots behind came Matt Ainsworth, and Davies was third with 84-12-72.

• WHALLEY GC’s President’s Day, with testing pin positions from President Nick Williamson, was won by a magnificent 89-26-63 from Karen Thompson, ahead of Pat Crawford (89-18-71) and Colin Elliot (79-7-72).

The Seniors’ Prize went to John Rostron 83-10-73.

The lowest gross prize was won by Tom Tuley with a 77.

The straightest drive was won by Gary Fowler, nearest the pin on the 18th was won by Les McCormick, and the ladies’ prize was won by Lorna Slinger.