Magic McGlynn wins at a canter

editorial image
Share this article

The Pendle Witch 36 Scratch Event at Clitheroe saw Nelson Golf Club members take home most of the lucrative prizes.

It was Blackburn Golf Club’s Steve McGlynn though who took the trophy and £350 first prize with a 140 total.

McGlynn finished birdie, par, birdie to complete his afternoon gross 70 which gave him a nine-shot margin over the runner-up, Craig Fort.

Nelson’s Shaun Field won a three way play-off with Nick Uttley and Brett Langstreth for the third place, all on 150.

C. Kendall won the best afternoon gross with his 74.

Paul Burrows won the solid silver trophy dated 1886 when he got the better of a card play-off with Geoff Roberts in the annual competition for past captains and presidents.

Garry Clarkson’s birdie for four points on the 18th secured a win for him and playing partner David Parkinson in Saturday’s fourball stableford. Nigel Schofield and Alan Gillespie took second.

On Finals Day Giles Shaw and David Holmes won the Foursomes Final against Graeme Edmonson and Paul Traynor 3 and 2.

Craig Allison got the better of Denis Greenup in the Castle Cup Final and Gary Speak won the singles k.o..

The Mixed Foursomes Final went to the wire when Gary and Emma Byrne finished 2 up winners over Norman and Michelle Fielding.

Chorley golfers M. Senior and Mrs M. Swizer topped the prize list in the Seniors Mixed Open Fourball with 43 points.

The Ladies Jack Tattersall Trophy and Medal was a triumph for Jan Walsh. Thursday’s nine hole stableford went to Jan Revis with 14 points and Anne Panter won a three way play-off with Barbara Blueyes and Rosemary Sims for second place.

Saturday’s Medal was won by Cath Podevyn.

• Mytton Fold Golf Club held their Bill Almond Memorial Trophy competition with Jean-Luc Van Boeckel taking the win from Leigh Canipa

In the ladies’ section it was another win for Allison Nuttall with 33 points. Judith Kay was second with 28 and Hazel Sellars took third with 25. Kyle Furlong took the junior prize.

• At Whalley, Lady Captain Elect, Ann Pollard, took the Captain’s Prize with 96-21-75 on Thursday. Karen Thompson came second (97-22-75) and Julie Stephenson (96-20-76) was third.

The EWGA Sunday Medal was won by Jane Smedley (91-12-79) with June Walmsley second (115-36-79) and Karen Thompson third (102-22-80).

• The September Ladies Medal at Stonyhurst was won by Val Fairless with 100-22-78.

Second with 82 was Margaret Duckett and third with 83 was Mrs Janette Dowdy.