Keith wins Captain’s Trophy

editorial image
Share this article

Club captain John Berry hosted his Captain’s weekend at Mytton Fold Golf Club.

On Saturday, Tony Wilson, playing off 10, won with an outstanding 75-10-65. Dave Bolton was second with an 80-12-68, with Patrick Ashworth (94-26-68) third after cards.

Five players shared the two’s pot, John Whittaker, Steve Brooks, Ray Standring, club president David Hargreaves and John Kwasniewski.

Sunday’s second round saw Chris Chadwick win with an excellent 74-6-68, just heading Steve Korab (84-15-69) and Keith Gill (84-14-70).

With a fourth place finish on Saturday (83-14-69) Gill (69+70=139) took the overall Captain’s Trophy, beating Tony Wilson (65+74=139) on a card play-off after 36 holes.

Chadwick ((72+68=140) took third overall, with Berry (71+74=145) taking Division One and Nick Avino (72+76=148) Division Two.

There were two two’s on Sunday, for junior Kyle Furlong and Robert Atkinson.

In the ladies’ section, Allison Nuttall (32 points) won from Judith Kay on a card play-off.

The Juniors’ section was headed by Shaun Aldred (72+73=145) with Kyle Furlong (66+84=150) second.

Lady Captain Jean Havard was nearest the pin and Carole Maher had the longest drive. For the men, Martin Holden took the nearest the pin prize, while Chris Chadwick had the longest drive.

John Walmsley took top spot in the second round of the Kevin Shanley Charity competition. John’s 90-19-71 put him three shots ahead Graham Slater (96-21-74) and Tony Wilson (84-10-74).

Mick Mahon took fourth with a 98-23-75 and moved up to second in the overall competition standings with 77-75-152. The best-two-scores-from-three-format has Round One winner, Bernard Downes in the lead with 71-79-150. Dave Pennington is one shot behind, with Round Two winner John Walmsley fourth.

The third and final round is on October 4th, with proceeds going to Derian House.

• THE Men’s Pairs Texas Scramble at Stonyhurst Park was won by Tony Wright and Jason Exell with a score of 61.8. Second were Andy Young and Sandy Morrison with 62.5, and third were Steve Clash and Karl Hargreaves with 64.4. The winners of the Ladies’ Paul McEvoy team competition were Sue Kirk, Betty Austin and Sheila Parman with 75 points.

Last week saw another social golf event. The Stableford competition winners were John and Sue Kirk and the putting competition was won by Margaret and Garry McAllester.

• GARY Speak achieved what father Edward did 23 years ago when he won the President’s Prize at Clitheroe.

Five-handicap Garry posted an incredible nett 61.

“The round of my life” said Speak, as was the nett 64 posted by second-placed Greg Peel. Denis Greenup was third on 65.

David Enion was level after nine but a double bogey on the 18th cost him fourth place to Julian Troup after cards, both returning nett 66s.

Craig Allison completed the prize list for Division One with a 67 and Paul Hamer took the Best Gross with his 72.

Garry Moores had no birdies in his round but took home the Division Two President’s Prize with a nett 67 by two shots from Mark Beaumont, who won a three way play-off on 69 with David Brennan and Richard Baker.

Tony Bridge got the better of a card play-off with Simon Cherry to win the 7th Midweek Medal with a solid nett 68. Sean Wilson and Dave McKenzie missed out of the prizes when Nigel Fitton had a better back nine with the same nett 69 to claim third place.

Bill Farnworth won the Seniors’ Stableford with 37 points. Alex Rigby was second and Jack Simmons won the duel with Peter Pedder and Wayne Townley for third, all three posting 35 points

A total of 100 pairs contested the Gents’ Open Fourball on Sunday, and visitors claimed the majority of the Prizes. Peter Harrison, with a little help from Tim Stanley, took the best gross.

The juniors’ latest Summer Stableford was won by Michael Greenlees with 47 points from Eithan Cambridge with 46.

Kieran Grimshaw, with 40 points was third. Tom Forrest took the two’s pot.

Clitheroe’s Mark Ashworth scored his second Northern Order of Merit victory of the month when he won the Wilpshire Trophy with rounds of 66 and 68 after countback from titleholder Ciaran Doherty.

On Thursday Clitheroe Ladies had their 36-hole Scratch Salver Competition, and lady captain Jan Burrows won with her 153 total.

Catherine Podevyn was second.Pat Murray matched Podevyn’s 157 total but was third after cards.

The 9-hole Stableford went to Gael Smith from Anne Panter and Irene Hinks.

Barbara Crowther was the Star Turn in the Midweek Medal when she won Division Two with a solid 72. Carolyn Cort’s 74 gave her second by two shots from Maureen Cox. Dorothy Dady won Division One with a nett 73, ahead of Jean Anne Speak and Edith Child.

• AT Whalley, Anne Prior OBE hosted an excellent Lady Captain’s Day on Thursday. In the EWGA Medal competition, Karen Thompson (94-22-72), won by a shot from Marilyn Bulcock (100-27-73). Carol Blackadder was third with the lowest gross (92-18-74). Carol scooped prizes for the best front nine and nearest the pin on the 12th. The best back nine and nearest the pin on the 18th went to Jennifer Eastwood, while Pat Passmore was nearest the line on the 8th. The high handicappers’ prize went to Vivian Lee. The evening mixed 9-hole texas scramble competition was won by Herbie Sloan, Carol Ashley and Gary Meakin with 28.5 points. The bridge drive was won by Irene Hinks and Susan Filiary with a plus 1646.