In-form Philip nets the trophy at Mytton Fold Golf Club

editorial image
Share this article

PHILIP Campbell’s run of excellent form netted him the Bill Almond Memorial trophy when he won Mytton Fold Golf Club’s rescheduled board competition on Saturday.

His 38 points were amassed over just 16 holes as holes 12 and 13 were ‘decommissioned’ due to excessive moisture.

Tony Cross came in second, two points in arrears. Past captain John Berry was third on 34 points and, due to his mature years, claimed the Seniors’ Trophy.

A gaggle of four fought over fourth place, all carding 33 points, and this was resolved in the order of Tom Steele, Jim Bridge, Barry Hargreaves and Ray Standring.

There were six twos, with Denis Leaver and Jean Van Boeckel birdying the first while Club Secretary Dave Clegg and Steve Rusyn did likewise at the ninth. Tony Wade made an excellent two at the second where he made the most of nearer winter green. Star of the show, however, was Tony Cross, whose two at the 311-yard 17th was only the second of the season on this hole.

While Tony Wade’s second shot at the second went in the hole, Ian Thomson took the spot prize for nearest the pin in two. Steve Rusyn’s shot from the tee at the 14th netted him the longest drive.

The ladies play their Bill Almond Memorial competition this Saturday.

The ladies’ delayed September 18-hole stableford competition was won by Judith Kay with 29 points over the 16-hole course. Lady captain Patricia Leyland finished second with Hazel Sellars third.

In the final of the Wednesday Social Competition it was a runaway win for Dave Clegg, whose ‘Victor Meldrew’ 42 points put him seven points clear of second-placed Richard Palmer and nine ahead of Gary Ashton. Over just 16 holes, this was an outstanding performance.

In the ‘also-ran’ section of the competition, it was a win for John Berry with 30 points.

Mick Mahon took nearest the pin on the first hole.

Steve Korab’s bright pink shirt attracted a lot of attention from the Havard clan when Jean’s tee shot on the second honed in on Steve who was playing the fifth. Her excuse of “he was behind a tree” failed to impress. Later Frank’s pulled drive on the 14th went like a pink-seeking missile, however a shout of ‘Fore Left ...Way left!’ helped avoid contact as Steve made his way down the 16th fairway.

Thanks to organisers Nigel Fairhurst and Steve Korab for an excellent summer series and final.

• SIX weeks out following surgery but Jeff Crowther came back in fine fettle to win the Advertiser and Times Trophy at Clitheroe last Friday.

Peter Robinson claimed a lost ball cost him the title but former High Sheriff and holder of the BEM, he will overcome the disappointment of losing out by one point to the recovering Crowther.

John Fryer slipped quietly into third place, just one point behind.

Crowther was still on song for Sundays Fourball when with a little help from playing partner Steve Dean they produced what could have been a winning 41 points return.

The SAS however had other ideas as Simon Swindells and Steve Ackers with seven birdies and 11 pars amassed a phenomenal 46 points to take first prize.

The Tyrrell brothers, Richard and William gelled well to score 41 but lost out by the narrowest of margins to Dean and Crowther for second.

Veteran Mike Gibson has lost none of his touch as he proved in Saturday’s Medal

Out in 36 and back in 37, Gibson returned 73-5-68 to win Division One after count back with Gary Byrne on the same mark.

Kevin Rogerson took third and Philip Cort won a three-way play-off with Mark Jones and Geoff Sutcliffe on 71 for fourth.

Peter Woods was the popular winner of Division Two with an impressive nett 69. A birdie on the difficult second hole set Woods up nicely for his Seasons best.

Kieron Hunt had a one shot margin over Chris Eddlestone for the runners up prize and Steve Credie made the prize list in fourth with his nett 72.

Steve Ackers capped a profitable weekend with a hole in one at the 14th. An ace for Ackers and £150 was the reward.

• AT Wilpshire Golf Club, the ladies competed in the Five Clubs and a Putter competition last Tuesday.

The winner was E. Aceret-Burgess with 32 points, six clear of runner-up H. Liles.

This Tuesday, the Scramble was won by J. Bond, S. Meadows and Fe Lee with a round of 80-7.5-72.5.

Runners-up were M. Cross, L. Hunter and D. Tattersall with 83-7.9-75.1.