Golf News: Turkish delight for Wilpshire duo

Pictured are Townend (right) and Campbell courtesy of Matthew Lewis at Getty Images.
Pictured are Townend (right) and Campbell courtesy of Matthew Lewis at Getty Images.

DRIVING instructor John Campbell is gearing up for the biggest test of his golfing career when he competes in The Lombard Challenge, a PGA Pro-Captain Tournament in Turkey.

The Wilpshire Golf Club captain joins forces with PGA professional Simon Townend in the £25,000 grand final at Antalya Golf Club’s PGA Sultan Course from November 30th to December 1st.

The Lancashire duo, who will be up against nine other UK clubs in the 36-hole final, will be following in the footsteps of Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy who recently competed over the PGA Sultan in the World Golf Finals.

• FRANK Hindle took the win in this week’s stableford competition at Mytton Fold Golf Club when he saw off his nearest challenger, Gary Aldred, in a card play-off.

With both players scoring 34 points over the 16-hole course it was left to competitions chairman, and newly -announced captain-elect, Peter Main, to call the event in Frank’s favour.

Third, and without a murmur about his handicap, was Tony Wilson followed by another duelling duo in the form of Nigel Fairhurst and Dave Clegg. Nigel took fourth spot with a better back-9 score.

In the Ladies’ section it was a win for Hazel Sellars with Jean Havard second.

In the Winter Pairs, it was a return to normal service with Main celebrating with playing partner Dave Halsall and amassing 40 points for the best score of the day.

Wayne Ivinson and John Welch were just one point behind, followed by Tony Wilson/Frank Havard (38 points).

The pairings of Ian Thomson/John Whittaker and Dave Clegg/Kevin Shanley both carded 37 points.

Mytton Fold Golf Club held their annual prize presentation evening on Friday in the hotel’s banqueting suite.

The prize-winners in the ladies’ competitions were: Winter Order of Merit, Doreen Hammond. Winter Singles Knockout, May Stableford, Captain v President and Frank Hargreaves, Patricia Leyland. Ladies’ Winter Doubles Knockout, Jean Havard and Helen Johnson. March Medal, Pauline White. April Medal, July Medal and 9 Hole Order of Merit, Hazel Sellars. Pharman Cup and Inaugural Ladies, Jean Sanderson. May Medal, July Stableford and Bill Almond Memorial, Judith Kay. Lady Captain’s Day, Gillian Pinder. June Medal, Founder Captain’s and Jubilee Trophy, Tarja Wilson. June Stableford, Past Captains, Roger Osliffe and Captain’s Drive in, Allison Nuttall. Captain’s Day, Joanne Allen. August Stableford, Linda Clegg. President’s Day and Ladies’ Singles Knockout, Abbie Clegg. Ladies’ Doubles Knockout, Jean Sanderson and Allison Nuttall. Order Of Merit, Allison Nuttall. England Golf Medal, Patricia Leyland.

The men’s and mixed winners were: Winter Mixed Knock Out, Allison Nuttall and John Berry, Judith Kay and Philip Hammond. Winter Pairs, Dave Halsall and Peter Main. Eurotrophy, Bob Devine. March Texas Scramble, J. Van Boeckel, Dave Wilson and Danny Heald. ELGA Handicap Qualifier, Paddy Ashworth. Irish Doubles, Bob Devine and Chris Wilson. April Texas Scramble, Scott Stanworth, Chris Wilson and Danny Steele. EGU Medal, Philip Campbell. May Monthly Stableford, Wayne Ivinson. June Stableford, Ray Standring. June Medal, Andrew Palfrey. Jim Hindle Memorial, Kevin Shanley. Hall Of Fame Qualifier, Ashley Clayton. Club Championship Nett, Eoghan Gilbert. International Pairs, Dave Clegg and John Berry. Charity Stableford, Chris Chadwick. ELGA Mixed Qualifier, Judith Kay and Tony Wilson. August Texas Scramble, John Parkinson, Gordon Lucas and Ian Hopcraft. September Stableford, John Walmsley. September Medal, Chris Chadwick. Kevin Shanley Trophy, Jim Bridge. Duffers Cup, Garry Davies. Mid week Order of Merit, Phil Chadwick. Captains v Presidents’ Barry Hargreaves. Singles Knockout Div 2, Ashley Clayton. Mixed Doubles KO, Doreen Hammond & Nigel Fairhurst. Senior Singles KO, Bernard Downes. Senior Doubles KO, David Clegg and Kevin Shanley. Men’s Doubles KO, T. and D. Steele. Singles KO, Tony Cross. Winter Order of Merit, David Clegg. Captains Drive in, Like Chadwick and Martin Holden. Inaugural Lady Captain’s Day, Phil Clegg. Post Office Cup, Stephen Rusyn. Pharman Cup, Luke Chadwick. Lady Captains Day, John Walmsley. Founder Captain’s Day, Gary Keogh. Queens Jubilee Trophy, Chris Chadwick. Frank Hargreaves Memorial, John Berry. Frank Hargreaves Memorial Seniors, David Clegg. Cavalier Putter, Steve Brooks. Captain’s Day, Frank Hindle. President’s Day, Dave Clegg. Roger Osliffe Memorial, Ashley Clayton. Bill Almond Memorial, Phil Campbell. Bill Almond Memorial Seniors, John Berry. Past Captains’ Memorial, Barry Hargreaves. Champion of Champions, Phil Campbell. Order of Merit, Chris Chadwick. Club Champion, Ray Standring.