Fantastic day for ladies at Clitheroe Golf Club

editorial image
Share this article

IT turned into a fantastic day on Thursday for the ladies’ of Clitheroe Golf Club - weatherwise that is - for the two divisions foursomes stableford and Australian Spoon Qualifer competition.

Winners of Division One (20 and under handicappers) were Marilyn Fletcher and Michelle Fielding with 30 points.

Winners of Division Two (also the Australian Spoons Qualifiers) were Jan Revis and Anne Hartley with 26 points.

The previous week in the Three Divisions Medal 18-hole competition, winners of Division One was Christine Stokes (73-05-68), from Deborah Catlow (90-13-77) and Marilyn Fletcher (92-14-78).

Division Two winner was Susan Healey 101-24-77, ahead of Elaine Grindrod (107-30-77) and Jill Farthing (100-21-79).

In Division Three, Janette Ranson came out on top with 111-32-79 from Jacqueline Bury (117-36-81) and Glenda Heanan (121-36-85).

• THIS week saw members of Whalley Golf Club compete in the ELGA Handicap Qualifier, the top four in the event going on to represent Whalley at the finals at Burnley Golf Club.

The conditions on Saturday proved to be very testing for the playing membership, with gusting winds and tough pin placements making scoring difficult.

It was no surprise then that the result was going to be very close, and eventually took a card play-off to decide the winner.

The eventual winner with a solid knock was single figure man Miles Wade 74-3-71, narrowly edging out another sound performance from John Kearsley 83-12-71.

Third place went to Gary Meakin (80-7-73) and fourth to Peter Seavers (85-11-74). There were eight recorded twos going to J. Wade, G. Meakin, J. Kearsley, R. Andrew, D. Rodgers, R. Lee, H. Walmsley, and M. Wade.

Whalley held their first mixed event of the season, the J.C. Penny Classic.

Due to the heavy rain earlier in the day, the competition was reduced to nine holes.

In spite of the poor weather conditions, the turnout was good and the husband and wife team of Chris and Karen Thompson came in with a winning score of 19.6, followed by Tom Orrell and Christine Thurston with 22.1

Still at Whalley, the ladies held the Longworth Cup first round qualifier and medal. The winner was Margaret Calvert (103-31-72), ahead of Joan Whittaker (96-19-77), Karen Thompson (100-22-78) and Viv Birtwell (101-22-79).

• THE first men’s handicap qualifying competition of the season took place at Stonyhurst Park on Sunday.

The course was in excellent condition, but the north easterly wind made scoring difficult.

The only player to beat the course standard scratch was Keith Wiggins, who won the 0-17 handicap category with 83-17-66.

In second place in category one was John Simpson with 84-16-68. The 18-28 handicap category was won by Steve Rushton with 92-21-71, and David Armstrong recorded his first ever podium place with 100-28-72, to give him second place.

l LAST Tuesday at Wilpshire Golf Club, the EWGA Medal was won by Eleanor Inglis (90-15-75) from Heather Deans (93-17-76), and the ELGA Handicap Shield and Annie Chambers Trophy Qualifiers saw Fiona Bristow (100-23-77) come top of the pile, ahead of Viv Walsh (109-31-78) and Donna Hindle (105-26-79).