Ernie Els provides prizes at Clitheroe Golf Club

editorial image
Share this article

THE President’s Prizes at Clitheroe Golf Club came courtesy of Open Champion Ernie Els following a visit from President Chris Stokes to his Vinyard in South Africa. Chris provided the baskets of quality wines and Ernie complemented the Prize Table with framed, signed photographs.

Prize Table with framed, signed photographs.

Phil Leaver took home the unique prize in Division One with three birdies and an impressive 72-6-66 score.

The highlight of Daniel Turner’s round were three birdies at the most difficult holes resulting in a near perfect round of 71-4-67 and he had a one shot margin over Julian Troup for second prize.

Young staff member Harry Ingram won the battle of the 67s over Richard Tyrrell who recovered well from a shaky start and Carl Drinkwater completed the Division One Prize List in 6th place.

Fine wine was far from Mike Ranson’s thoughts after an eight on the first but a birdie on the 4th set him up for a great nett 67 and the Division Two President’s Prize. Richard Rudd slipped quietly into second place ahead of a trio returning 71s.

Captain Elect Paul Wood dropped shots around Amen Corner but ended with a creditable 71 but had to surrender fourth place to Steve Taylor and Ron Higson led the trio in third spot thanks to a par on the 18th.

Richard Baker showed his delight as he received the final prize with his nett 72 and Richard Lowrey won the Best Gross.

Sunday’s Open Fourball was a triumph for father and son, P and J Yates from Warrington after countback from Clitheroe’s Martin Cane and Reg Hal with the same 41 points.

The two Clarets, Walmsley and Samuels were just one off the pace but best of three pairs on 40 points after cards for second prize. Great Harwood’s Kevin Boland and Steve Crolla took the Best Gross.

Daniel Turner confirmed his superb form with another nett 67 in the Midweek Medal and Tim Stanley went close to take the runners up spot on 69.

Rod Hall got the better of a card play-off with Martin Cane for third.

The Ladies with stamina had an early start to compete in the 36 hole Scratch Salver and EWGA Medal on Thursday.

Two young stars provided a grandstand finish.

Sophie Lamb was in pole position after 18 holes but Emma Clegg came good on the return leg to win the Salver by one shot.

Lamb kept her playing partner in check and her 155 total gave her a four shot margin over Chris Stokes for third place.

Janet Burrows filled fourth place in both the Scratch and best nett.

President Stokes turned the tables on the young pretenders as she took the best nett after cards with Sophie Lamb and Emma Clegg had to settle for third.

The nine-hole Stableford was a triumph for Ian Buttle’s wife Diane. Jack Mercer won the Juniors 5th Summer Series Competition and James Banks took second ahead of Tom Forrest and David Robinson.

Division One of the Junior Stableford went to George Young and Division Two was Callum Darcys with 40 points.

• THE Deer Park Trophy held at Stonyhurst Park Golf Club on Sunday recognises the initial use of the land and also allows men and women to play together and compete on equal terms. The first staging of this competition was won by Val Fairless with 36 stableford points.

The best men’s score on the day with 35 points was Jim Walker who beat Andy Young on a card play-off. Nigel Smith won the men’s category 2 prize with 33 points and Joyce Kenyon was the ladies’ runner-up with 32 points.

In the Paul McEvoy sponsored team competition, Graham Monk, Bob Driver, John Blockeel and Richard Jackson produced a flurry of birdies to take first place with 101 stableford points, comfortably beating Steve Clash, Martin Drury, Jason Excel and Karl Hargreaves on 96 points into second place. The previous week’s July medal category 1 winner was Adam Hayhurst with 79-9- 70 with Nigel Smith continuing his rich vein of form winning the category 2 prize with 90-21-69.

• BAZ Hargreaves dazzled everyone with his golf (and his bright orange top) when he took Mytton Fold Golf Club’s Past Captain’s memorial Trophy at the weekend.

Playing off a handicap of 19, Baz’s five pars and a birdie were just enough to beat Chris Chadwick on a card playoff. Chris, playing off 6, returned an outstanding 11 pars and two birdies, but a better nett back nine sent the trophy in Baz’s direction.

Ashley Clayton headed Steve Korab, Ian Shaw and John Berry who all netted the same score of 36 points.

Biggest smile of the day was on the face of Ray Standring whose birdie at the first hole entitled him to the whole of the Twos Pot!

Other rounds of note were those returned by Philip Campbell and Frank Havard. Two more different rounds could not be possible with the very consistent Philip carding nine pars and nine bogies on his way to 36 points. At the other end of the consistency scale Frank’s 32 points included six blobs, three of which were on the back-nine where he netted 19 points from his six scoring holes!

In the Ladies’ section it was a win for Allison Nuttall whose two birdies and two blobs netted her 35 points. Jean Sanderson came in second some two points in arrears, followed closely by Joanne Allen and Judith Kay.

When the club played their ELGA qualifying round the top three pairings going forward to represent Mytton Fold were Judith Kay/Tony Wilson (nett 73), Jean & Garry Davies (nett 75.5) and Linda & Dave Clegg with a nett 77).

Mytton Fold’s Seniors continue to plough a successful furrow as they beat Burnley 7-5 in the latest league match.

• This week saw members of Whalley Golf Club compete with their invited guests at the Centenary Invitational.

The course had been set up to play very difficult with some of the pins tucked away on corners of greens and at the top of ridges this coupled with blustery conditions made for very difficult scoring.

The eventual winners with a superb three under par 41 points were Peter Fletcher and Simon Tipton (Stonyhurst Park Golf Club). Second place via a card play off went to, with a solid level round, John Jobes and P Hanson, third again with level par was Bill Banks and D Green.

There were five recorded twos going to N Kelly, K Stevens, J Rostron, A Nicholson, and C Davies.