Elizabeth claims ELGA Scratch win

editorial image

WILPSHIRE’S Elizabeth Stebbings won the ELGA Junior Open Scratch Bowl at Accrington Golf Club.

Elizabeth, scored a gross 73 to claim victory.

The net trophy was won by George Nightingale of Clitheroe with a score of 86-22-64.

George’s trophy was presented at Clitheroe last Saturday during the Lancashire v Durham Men’s County match.

Attending that day was Mike Gibson, who was the first-ever winner of the ELGA Junior championship 50 years ago in 1962, and, therefore, the first name on the trophy.

In 1962 the trophy was presented to the gross champion, for which a new trophy has been presented since 1974.

The pair are pictured (left).

• ON Thursday, the ladies at Whalley Golf Club competed in a EWGA Medal Round. Anne Prior was the winner with an impressive 96-26-70.

Joan Whittaker was second with 96-18-78, and Margaret Calvert third with 105-24-81.

There were three recorded twos going to Anne Prior, Jennifer Eastwood and Chris Thurston.