Dickie makes most of inaugural event

Dickie Palmer, winner of the inaugural lady captain's day at Mytton Fold with an excellent nett 68, also claiming the twos pot
Dickie Palmer, winner of the inaugural lady captain's day at Mytton Fold with an excellent nett 68, also claiming the twos pot
Share this article

Dickie Palmer made the most of Mytton Fold Golf Club’s inaugural lady captain’s day.

He not only won the competition outright with an excellent nett 68, but as he was the only competitor to birdie a par 3, he also scooped the whole of the Twos Pot.

Dickie was chased home by Wayne Ivinson, Dave Griffith and Nigel Fairhurst, all three carding nett 70s, only split by a card play-off.

Keith Fitzhenry just pipped Dave Pennington for fifth spot after cards following their tie on nett 71s, but Dave took the Division Two prize.

In the ladies’ section it was a win for Brenda Griffith with a nett 71, with Gillian Pinder second and Doreen Hammond third.

Mytton Fold’s seniors played the first round of the Kevin Shanley Charity competition, with Frank Nickson (nett 73) heading the table.

Angus Barr finished one shot behind, with Steve Worrall another shot in arrears.

Graham Slater finished fourth with a nett 76, closely followed by Geoff Holtom (nett 77).

With two more rounds to play, and the best-two-from-three scores to count, it’s still all to play for with such tight scoring.

In last week’s Texas Scramble it was a win for Keith Fitzhenry, Barrie Walmsley and Steve Cunliffe – for the second year in succession!

In the April Midweek Stableford, Graham Slater was top of the results sheet with 32 points, three points clear of Chris Quinn and Jack Wilson, with Chris runner-up following a card playoff.

Mytton Fold are again running their taster sessions to give those new to golf the opportunity to have a try.

The programme, which costs £50, provides four sessions (6-7-30 p.m.) starting next Thursday.

All equipment will be provided. Contact the Golf Shop on 01254 245392.

• Clitheroe maintained their unbeaten record with a hard-fought draw at Ribble Valley Seniors’ League rivals Chorley last Thursday.

Clitheroe built up a 2-0 lead with wins from seniors captain Richard Crossley and partner Peter Robinson, and the second pairing of Jeff Crowther and Phil Bishop, but Chorley hit back with a hat-trick of wins against Phil Walmsley and Kenny Ward, Neil Fawcett and Roger Williams and Tom Poole and Richard Read.

The final pair of Peter Hargreaves and Ian Lambert raced into a six-hole lead after seven holes, and held on to record an emphatic 6 and 5 win and make the overall match score a draw at 3-3.

• It was novelty competition time at Stonyhurst Park Golf Club on Sunday with the annual 3 clubs and a putter event taking centre stage.

Members were only allowed four clubs in their bags and did a full 18 holes in excellent conditions. Darren Holden and John Simpson completed a creditable one over par score. Darren was the winner after a card play-off (96-26-70) with John runner-up with 85-15-70.

Sunday saw the annual Yamazaki doubles competition. The eight best scores go into round two of the knockout stage, and they were: Peter Halpin and Mike Lakin 38 points; Adam Hayhurst and ted Crosby 37; Ian McDonnell and Ian Topping 37; John Simpson and Graham Monk 35; John Hodkinson and Keith Wiggins 34; Geoff Pallister and Jim Walker 34; Graham Hinchcliffe and Steve Baines 34; Richard Jackson and Jim Sumner 33.

• It was the ELGA qualifier at Whalley on Saturday, won by D. Hanson’s six under par 66. T. Thornber was in the winners’ circle again with a very good 67, and third place went to B Graves. These three will represent Whalley as the ELGA team, which is played at Accrington on May 9th.

Division two winner with 71 was N. Jefferson, with P. Chalker (74) second and J. Wade (75) third.

There were three twos on the day for K. Moore, D. Hanson and K. Johnson.

The lady members at Whalley went out on Thursday in glorious conditions to compete in the first Medal round and Qualifying round for the Longworth Cup, with a handicap limit of 30 .

The winner was Jean Sanderson with 92-20-72 , followed by Joan Whittaker with 91-18-73, Jennifer Eastwood with 101-27-74, and Ann Pollard with 101-25-76.