Dennis wins memorial trophy at Mytton Fold GC

Frank Hargreaves Memorial Trophy winner Dennis Leaver (left) with Mick Kelbie, Mrs L. Hargreaves and Brenda Griffiths
Frank Hargreaves Memorial Trophy winner Dennis Leaver (left) with Mick Kelbie, Mrs L. Hargreaves and Brenda Griffiths
Share this article

A decade on from Frank Hargreaves’s passing, his passion and vision was celebrated at Mytton Fold Golf Club with members playing for the trophy in his memory on the course he built.

Nine players were level or better than handicap with the eventual winner, Dennis Leaver, leading the way with 42 points. Steve Korab was second on a card playoff, ruing what could have been, after failing to score on the final two holes.

Close on their heels was Mick Kelbie, who took third place with 40 points, which was enough to secure the Seniors’ Trophy.

The Division One title was taken by Brad Hodgeson on 39 points with the Division Two accolade going to Paul Whaling with 38 points.

Meanwhile, it was a wet and windy start to the Championship weekend, with members forced to contend with heavy rain and increasingly stronger winds throughout the day.

A great round of 87-19- 68 by Andy McLeod was the only sub par net round of the day. The closest challenger was John Parkinson 82-12- 70 and Jim Bridge 95-25- 70.

The Division One award went to John Berry (81-10- 71) with Mike Chatburn taking the Division Two award with 97-24- 70.

The top six vying for the Championship on day two were Chris Chadwick (80), John Berry (81), John Parkinson (82), Craig Hall (84), Wayne Ivinson (84) and Matt Oakley (84).

Day two saw a slightly friendlier course, dry weather but a swirling blustery wind. A superb round from Gary Aldred 81-15- 66 was just enough to take the win on day two and to put him in contention for the Club Championship.

In second by a solitary shot was Ian Hopcraft (86-19-67) and one further back was Keith Fitzhenry who posted 82-14- 68. The Division One prize went to Dave Bolton with a 86-16- 70 and the Division Two went to Ryan McGarrie with a 94-24- 70.

The Club Championship was eagerly contested within the last few groups. Gary Aldred’s superb final round pushed him into fourth place with a 167. Wayne Ivinson and Chris Chadwick both finished with a 164 with the former taking second on a card play off.

The eventual winner by a margin of five shots was John Berry with a 159.

Elsewhere, an 11:1 win over Wilpshire put Mytton Golf Seniors top of the North West Seniors’ league.