Dave comes out on top at Mytton Fold Golf Club

editorial image

Big Dave Westwood took overall honours when Mytton Fold Golf Club celebrated their Captain’s Weekend with a two-day competition.

Despite not having won on either day, his consistent pair of nett 70s was good enough to leave him well clear.

On Saturday dawned sunny and breezy, with later starters enjoying a stiffening wind. Past Captain Gordon Lucas shone with an outstanding 88-19-69 to take the win one shot clear of Darryl Mankowski (94-24-70), John Parkinson (82-12-70) and Westwood (91-21-70).

On Sunday, again a nett 69 took the win, but this time it was a three-way fight with Danny Glover (89-20-69) just edging out Chris Chadwick (75-6-69) and Ray Standring (78-9-69) on a card play-off.

But with two matching 91-21-70s, the combined two-day competition winner was Westwood who was presented with the trophy by club captain Phil Hammond.

Joint runners-up were day-one winner Lucas (69+75= 144) and Baz Hargreaves who

matched winner Westwood with 72+72=144 having finished fifth and eighth.

In the ladies’ Sunday round it was a win for Lady Captain Doreen Hammond when her 104-31-73 was just good enough to hold off Linda Clegg (94-21-73) following a card play-off. Just one shot behind, Abbie Clegg (95-21-74) took third.

Peter Pedder was on a high after a prize-winning score on President’s Day, and he added a hole in one at the 5th hole in Clitheroe Golf Club’s Midweek Medal.

A score of 79-12-67 would have been good enough to win most Medals but Simon Swindells returned a remarkable 69-04-65 to take first prize.

Alex Cave was third with a 68.

The John Cartmell Memorial Medal was won by Steve Credie with a nett 67.

Chris Parkinson had a treble bogey eight on the 18th as he finished with a 68.

Julian Troup was third with a 69.

Dean Braithwaite won a four-way play-off on 71 with Nigel Clowes, Mark Ashworth and Daniel Turner for the Division One Prize, and Richard Crossley got the nod over Trevor Jones and Matthew Garner to claim the Division Two prize after cards on 71.

Keith Wallbank took Division Three, one shot better than David Hillary.

George Nightingale won the Junior Summer Championship with 84-14-70 Declan Barnes was runner-up with his nett 73 and Oliver Smith settled for third.

Sunday’s Three Ball Scramble saw Matthew Garner, Gary Speak and Mike Tattersall sail into first place.

The Preedys, D. and D. with Julian Troup, took second prize ahead of Beggs,Dawson and Pickup.

Lauraine Wall’s nett 70 took Division Two by a mile.

Janet Bailey wion the Division One Prize and Sheila Cornwell won a play-off with Debbie Catlow for second.

Susan Gibson and S. Harley won the Ladies’ Greensome Invitation with 41 points and Chris Stokes and Johanna Somers were second with 37.

Deborah Catlow and Judith Whittaker slipped into third after a four way play-off on 35.

Cathy Podevyn and Val Fairless, representing Clitheroe, won the Scott Leggat County Foursomes Final at Stand Golf Club with 44 points - a massive nine-point margin.

On Thursday, the ladies of Whalley competed in the EWGA Medal first round of the Hi -Task Competition.

The winner was Karen Thompson (91-20-71) .

Second was Carol Ashley with 94-17-77, and third was Vivian Lee with 111-33-78.

Trish Marshall won the Stableford competition with 23 points .

In between the showers, Stonyhurst Park Golf Club managed to complete their July Medal.

The winner in Category 1 was Terry Mason with a score of 82-14-68, ahead of Geoff Pallister with a score of 87-18-69.

In Category 2, the winner, after a card play-off, was Rupert Frost with a score of 92-26-66.

Runner-up was Phil Crookes with 87-21-66.