Clitheroe golf round-up

Share this article

THE inaugural New Members Welcome Stableford was held at Stonyhurst Park on Sunday.

This men and ladies competition encourages new members to the club to take part in competitive golf by pairing them with experienced club members, and, where necessary, helping them with the rules and etiquette of competitive golf.

In the open category, the overall winner with 40 points, playing off a handicap of 18 was Derek Bramwell, just beating playing partner John Hodgkinson on a card play-off.

Bramwell’s form has been inconsistent in recent years, but he is looking to resume his dominance over veterans’ golf, and his Saturday fourball in the coming months.

Winner of the new members competition was Tim Roberts with 35 points, closely followed by Tim Curran on 34 points.

• SATURDAY saw Whalley Golf Club members compete in the Three Man Team event.

The miserable conditions made the golf trying at times and really tested the skills of the members.

The winners on the day were the talented team of James Andrew, Miles Wade, and Mark Saunders, amassing a excellent score of 10 under par 82 points.

Second place, and another fantastic knock was the team of Nick Williamson, Dick Ferley, and Chris Thompson with 81 points.

There were six recorded two for Steve Shoreman, Miles Wade, Nick Williamson, Gary Meakin, John Jobes, and Chris Blackadder.

This week sees members compete in the ELGA Handicap Qualifier.

The ladies at Whalley Golf Club held a Five-Club 18-hole Stableford competition, in teams of three, with two scores to count.

The winning team consisted of Maureen Board, Jean Sanderson and Frances Gierat with 75 points, closely followed by Linda Rhodes, Margaret Calvert and Chris Thurston with 74 points.

In third place with 72 points was lady captain Ann Pollard, Janet Taylor and Karen Thompson.

• WILPSHIRE Ladies’ Golf Club held their Spring Meeting last week.

Winner of the 0-28 Division was Donna Hindle (100-26-74), ahead of Christine Isherwood (88-13-65), with Jane Plum (108-33-75) winning the 29-36 Division from Maureen Russell (115-35-80).