Clash of Titans ends in a draw

Let battle commence, as President David Hargreaves (left) takes guard against Captain Peter Main!
Let battle commence, as President David Hargreaves (left) takes guard against Captain Peter Main!
Share this article

When Mytton Fold played their ever-popular end of season President versus Captain competition, the battle lines were clearly drawn as President David Hargreaves and Club Captain Peter Main took turns to select their troops for the season-ending clash of the Titans.

Challenging conditions faced the foot soldiers as the shotgun start placed battles all over the Mytton Fold battlefield. Some played in thick mist while others were squinting in the early morning low sunlight. With each fourball consisting of a pair from each team, the good-humoured rivalry continued throughout the competition.

As the final scores were entered, the unique outcome in the history of the competition emerged – a draw!

But wait. Both President and Captain had two jokers to play. As the sealed envelopes were opened, the selected competitors had their scores doubles.

The Captain had nominated himself and his 34 points were doubled.

Mr President’s first selection was Frank Havard. His lowly 27 points gave the lead to Mr Captain who revealed his final joker – Dave Halsall who had an excellent 36 points.

It was all over for Mr President. 43 points in arrears, but his joker was Chris Chadwick, and his overall competition-winning score of 43 points ensured the most unlikely of final scores – a second, and final draw!

With no £20 note to hand over from the loser to the winner, the battle was settled with a handshake.

Second overall in the individual competition was Wayne Ivinson with 38 points, followed by Dave Westwood just one point in arrears.

Brenda Griffith (34 points) won the ladies’ competition, beating Judith Kay on a card play-off, with Hazel Sellars just one point behind.

With a twos rollover, sinking a birdie on any of the par-3 holes was going to pay dividends, and so it turned out for Joanne Allen, Steve Worrell and Richard Palmer at the first and Chris Chadwick at the 18th.

The Order of Merit for both men and ladies is now complete. Well done to both Chris Chadwick and to Hazel Sellars!