Chris takes top spot in Memorial

All smiles for Ann: (from left) Peter Fox, Dave Clegg, Linda Clegg, Mick Bryan, Ann Almond, Carole Maher, Hazel Sellars, Sarah Bryan, Katie Maher and Keith Fitzhenry (s).
All smiles for Ann: (from left) Peter Fox, Dave Clegg, Linda Clegg, Mick Bryan, Ann Almond, Carole Maher, Hazel Sellars, Sarah Bryan, Katie Maher and Keith Fitzhenry (s).
Share this article

Chris Chadwick took the top spot when Mytton Fold Gold Club held their Bill Almond Memorial Trophy competition on Sunday.

Warm and dry conditions helped to produce some good scores.

Chris, playing off 5, carded 41 points. Keith Fitzhenry finished just one point in arrears, but took the Seniors’ Trophy.

Third was John Parkinson with 39 points following a three-way card play-off.

In the Ladies’ section it was a win for Linda Clegg with 37 points with Allison Nuttall second (34 points) and Jean Havard (33 points) third, just shading Brenda Griffith in a card play-off.

Ciaran Halsall took the Juniors’ Award with 40 points, beating brother Alex into second, with Katie Maher third.

The twos pot was a five-way split with Peter Fox, Mick Bryan and Richard Palmer all birdying the first, while Dave Griffith and Dave Clegg both birdied the ninth.

With just one more summer qualifying competition to go, it’s tight at the top of the men’s Order of Merit. Chris Chadwick leads with 67 points; Keith Fitzhenry is close behind with 64 points.

Phil Hammond (60 points) and Wayne Ivinson (57 points) are still in the hunt.

The ladies’ spot prizes were taken by Hazel Sellars (longest drive) and Carole Maher (nearest the pin), while Wayne Ivinson hit the longest drive and was nearest the pin.

Phil Chadwick took the final midweek competition of the summer season and the Order of Merit. Runner-up in the both the final event and the Order of Merit was Roland Hailwood. Graham Slater finished third overall.

• Val and Kath go head to head for stableford prize

The weather played havoc with the Ladies’ “Wear it Pink” Stableford at Clitheroe Golf Club.

But Val Fairless and Kath Townley were not to be denied their head to head for the Division One Prize.

Both ladies produced 36 points from the 16 holes, but with a better back nine, Fairless won.

Catherine Podevyn was the best in Division Two with a three-shot margin over Gillian Eddlesston.

A total of 29 teams turned out for Saturday’s Four-Man Scramble and they produced 37 twos and one hole in one.

The swinging quartet of Denis Greenup, David Heesom, Ralph Postlethwaite and Chris Vines found 12 birdies and an ace for the winning 54.3 total.

Only a fraction behind with two eagles and eight birdies, the Bennett/Payne/Nunn/Tommy Poole team had to settle for second.

Mike Fearnhead, the two Spouses,R. and A. and Alex Taylor made the podium in third.

It was the Brandreth and Ultima day at Whalley Golf Club on Saturday.

All this season’s winners played for the Brandreth Trophy, with the remainder of the field playing for the Ultima.

The Ultima field that came in with the lowest score of the day, Martin Crabtree’s five under par 67. Second was John Hamilton (68) and third Bill Banks (69).

The Brandreth trophy went to Colin T. Elliott with a classy 69, just one in front of Kevin Moore, with Aaron Ripley (72) third.

There were twos for K. Walker (2), M. Crabtree, B. Devine, S. Green and C.T. Elliott.