Charity day proves a huge success!

Pictured are Men's and Ladies' Captains Jim and Jan Walker
Pictured are Men's and Ladies' Captains Jim and Jan Walker

Wayne Ivinson won the two-day Mytton Fold Club Championship at the weekend.

His 79+79 gross equalled Chris Chadwick’s 76+82 and, after a three-hole playoff, Wayne was crowned champion.

Saturday started with a bang when the second tee shot of the day went straight in the hole, netting Keith Fitzhenry his first hole-in-one!

Club Captain Peter Main was third in the nett competition with an 88-19-69. He was beaten by Steve Cunliffe (88-12-68) and first day winner Steve James (89-23-66).

Day two saw Martin Holden win wth an 82-15-67. Gary Aldred (86-17-69) was two shots in arrears, while Steve Worrall (84-14-70) was third.

In the nett, overall competition, Tony Cross won with 69+72=141 from Ivinson (73+73=146) and Peter Main (69+78=147).

In the Ladies’ 9-hole July Stableford, Hazel Sellars won from Gillian Pinder and Past Lady Captain Doreen Hammond.

In the International Pairs competition, Captain Elect Mick Bryan and Denis Leaver won with 43 points, one ahead of Gary Ashton and Ray Standring. Martin Holden/John Parkinson were third with 41.

Settle’s Bert Hemingway returned an impressive nett 72 to clinch runners-up spot in Clitheroe Golf Club’s Peter Geddes Memorial Trophy.

Rod Hall went one better to win. Clive Wood topped Division One ahead of Peter Catlow; and Matthew Garner got the better of Ian Sellick and Brian Stokes after countback, to win Division Two.

David MacKenzie won the Midweek Medal with his 77-9-68, and President Peter Clayton and Peter Harrison were second and third with 69s.

Peter Pedder won Sunday’s Stableford with 37 points, one ahead of Don Partington, with Chris Silverwood third.

Chris Hamer and Steve Alcock headed Division One and David Proos beat Trevor Jones and George Riding to the Division Two prize after cards.

John Braithwaite took Division Three from Geoff Cole.

George Nightingale won Junior Captain’s Day with an 81-9-72 on the card from Louis Phelps. Kieren Grimshaw won the duel with Oliver Smith for third place, both with 74s.

Gail Clifford took the Lady Captain’s Prize with a nett 71.

Anne Hartley was two off the pace but second after cards with Pat Murray.

Nancy Mortimer had the only 2 on the 8th in the Ladies’ 9 Hole Stableford but lost out on cards to Eileen Lambert with 18 points.

Emma Clegg won the Ladies’ Two Division Midweek Stableford with 39 points. Michelle Fielding was second ahead of Sharon Turner.

Division Two went to Debra Wood from Bernadette Howarth.

Clitheroe Seniors beat Pleasington 9-3 on Monday.