Birds up for grabs at Turkey Shoot!

editorial image
Share this article

Butcher Alan Hacking sponsored the birds for Clitheroe Golf Club’s Turkey Shoot, and the Nigel Fitton/Julian Troup combination went to the top of the Prize Table with 44 points.

A 4, 3, 4 finish by Fitton put them two points clear of Scott Greaves and Paul Nightingale - second ahead of three on 41.

The powerful Ashworth/Flanagan partnership produced six birdies in their 41-point total to take third place after cards.

Paul Nightingale and guest D. Parkinson had a storming back nine to win Sunday’s Invitation Fourball with 43 points, but it was close.

Carl Drinkwater and S. Plows were not in contention until a late burst of points on the last four put them ahead of the Passmore team with 42 points and second place.

New member G. Duxbury and Andrew Spouse brought in competitive guests to claim the remaining two prizes.

Ralph Postlethwaite out-gunned the talented Dave Heesom to win the Castle Cup and Graeme Edmundson beat Andy Fish to take the Men’s Singles Title.

The battle for the Dugdale Trophy was won by Craig Allison when he beat Gary Byrne in the Final.

The Stokes, Chris and Brian, capped another profitable season when they proved too much for Daniel and Sharon Turner to win the Mixed Foursomes Title, and the Brennan Brothers Dave and Roger finished runners-up to Iain Murray and John Kenyon in the Men’s Foursomes Final.

In the Ladies’ Team of Four Competition, Lady Captain Gillian Eddlestone led a powerful team of Tracey Bentley, Marilyn Fletcher and Michelle Fielding to an imposing 85-point total but Judy Wooley as she teamed up with Jane Hoyle,Elizabeth Birtwell and Patricia Rees to compile a winning 88 points.

The Pat Brennan, Janet Bailey, Sheila Cornwell, Irene Hinks quartet took third place after cards with the Maudsley/Grindrod/Gibson/McEwan team with 79s.

David Hinks’ wife, Irene, had twos on the 5th and the 17th and Fletcher, Fielding and Bailey posted one each.

The first win of Mytton Fold Golf Club’s winter league went to Chris Chadwick when he carded 35 points over the shortened winter course.

Just one point behind in this Stableford competition were John Parkinson and Mick Mahon, with the former just getting the nod on a card play-off.

There were four 2s on the day. John Parkinson and Mick Kelbie birdied the first, but star of the show was Steve Cunliffe who birdied both the first and the final holes!

In the ladies it was a win for Lady Captain Doreen Hammond with Hazel Sellars second and Jean Havard in third.

In the Winter Pairs, first blood went to Nick Avino and Martin Holden when their 37 points was the best of the bunch. Close behind came Jean Van Boeckel/Mick Kelbie (36 points) and Keith Fitzhenry/Barrie Walmsley, Richard Greaves/Steve James and Nigel Fairhurst/Gary Ashton, all with 35 points.

The Wednesday evening Social Competition, organised by Nigel Fairhurst and Steve Korab, drew to a close on Sunday as the weekly winners and runners-up came together for the final shoot out.

Frank Havard’s 39 points, just edged out Frank Hindle (37 points) and Nigel Fairhurst (35 points). Ciaran Halsted took best Junior, while Jean Havard was best lady.

The Millennium Trophy at Whalley was won by Phil Campbell with a fantastic 71-5-66.

Second place in Division One went to P. Fletcher (73-6-67).

Division Two winner was C. Rees (89-20-69), ahead of C. Driver (94-22-72).

There were only six 2s in the comp with Bob Devine netting two of them, along with J. Rostron, S. Andrews, M. Bartle and R. Robinson.

Presentation night is tomorrow night, with the hangover stakes on Saturday.

Jamie’s winter competition starts on Saturday, November 2nd.

Last Thursday’s ladies’ Yellow Ball competition was won by Lady Captain Wendy Green, Jennifer Eastwood, Marion Chambers and Betty Rostron with 23 points.