Bernard claims victory in Charity Trophy event

editorial image
Share this article

WINNER Bernard Downes is pictured (left) receiving the Derian House Charity Trophy from event sponsor Kevin Shanley at Mytton Fold Golf Club.

Bernard took the Kevin Shanley Charity Trophy when the third, and final, round was played. Having returned a nett 71 for the first round in April, Bernard’s 105-27-78 gave him the best two scores from three, and his total 149 nett put his name on the trophy.

Winner on the day was Captain-elect Gordon Lucas (93-18-75) who beat Mick Mahon on a card play-off. Peter Tuck secured third spot, just one shot behind.

Mahon was a double runner-up, as his best two scores were just one shot behind the trophy winner.

But the big winner on the day was Derian House Children’s Hospice, which will receive a cheque for £300 as a result of this annual charity event.

• GEOFF Sutcliffe proved his stamina in the Final Medal at Clitheroe Golf Club when he completed his round with five pars for a nett 68 to take the Division One prize.

Tim Clarke came back in level par, but had to settle for second place with his 76-7-69 return, and Ian Murray slipped into third with a one-shot margin over Michael Cerami

Richard Baker birdied the tricky 17th, which gave him the edge over Malcolm Goldsworthy in a playback on 71 in Division Two.

However, Stephen Law came with a late surge when a birdie on the 16th set him up for a good finish, and his nett 69 won the prize.

Steve Turner followed Baker and Goldsworthy in fourth.

Alan Gillespie dropped only two shots to win the best gross.

The Dewhirst Trophy for the best six rounds in all Medal Competitions went to the dedicated Denis Greenup with a score of 409.

Gary Speak had a one-shot margin over Simon Swindells for the runners-up prize, and a three-way tie saw Mark Ashworth, Tom Forrest and Daniel Turner follow on 416.

Sophie Lamb won her semi-final match against Gregg Peel for the right to meet the winner of David Robinson/Will Paton semi in the final of the Juniors Knockout competition.

Barbara Crowther and Sue Johnson braved the elements in the Ladies’ Fourball and the wet and weary duo were rewarded with first place and 41 points.

Judith Bishop and Jan Walsh were well pleased to take second place with 36 points and the Maureen Cox/Anne Hartley partnership finished third ahead of the unfortunate Nancy Mortimer and Rosemary Sims

• WHALLEY Golf Club recently held one of the most prestigious events in the club calendar.

The Brandreth Rosebowl and Ultima Trophies were competed for - the Brandreth having the distinction on being a board competition, and only members winning a singles competition throughout the year may enter, a sort of champion of champions event.

The blustery and wet conditions on the day made for incredibly tough scoring, and the fact that only one person carded a net score under par is testament to how demanding the course was.

The victor on the day, and winning the Brandreth Rosebowl with a superbly crafted knock of 72-4-68, was Daniel Liles.

Runner up was Arron Ripley 83-5-78, and third place went to Donald Blanch (89-11-78).

The winner of the Ultima Trophy was Chris Blackadder via a card play-off with Neil Ashworth, both with fine knocks 78-6-72 and 84-12-72 respectively.

In Third was Martin Crabtree with 89-16-73.

There were five recorded twos going to Arron Ripley, Danny Liles (2), James Andrew, and Mike Fletcher

This week saw Whalley host the Men’s Open Four-Man Team event.

The incredibly testing conditions, with the persistent wind and rain, made the course very difficult and scoring very tricky.

It was testament then to the skill and resolve of the winning team to card an outstanding score of 15 under par - 87 stableford points, The team consisting of Arron Ripley (junior captain, Whalley), Alex Young (Longridge GC), Dave McDonald (Accrington GC), and Peter Fletcher (Whalley). Runners-up with another superb score of 86 stableford points were the team consisting of Roger Palmer, Keith Fitzhenry, George Davies, and Stephen Brown. Third were the all-Whalley team consisting of Mel Earle, John Kitchen, John Rostron, and Martin Crabtree.