Beaten 2010 bowls finalist comes back to claim title

WINNER: Peter Cunliffe
WINNER: Peter Cunliffe
Share this article

THE Harold Blackburn Trophy was held at Clitheroe Cricket and Bowling Club, where the quarter-final ties were packed with previous finalists.

Peter Cunliffe of Waddington A (pictured above) was runner-up in 2010, but went one better to claim the title with a resounding win over David Rose of Great Harwood CC.

Winner Graham Wood on right, Lee Ramell, runner-up, on left

Winner Graham Wood on right, Lee Ramell, runner-up, on left

While the final was somewhat of an anti-climax, Peter had to overcome two previous winners, Stuart Gower and Ian Edmondson, who both play at the host club, in nail-biting encounters in the quarter and semi-final, respectively.

Quarter-final results: Peter Cunliffe (Waddington A) 21, Stuart Gower (Clitheroe Cricket A) 20; Ian Edmondson (Clitheroe Cricket A) 21, Michael Joyce (Ribblesdale A) 6; David Rose (Great Harwood CC) 21, Mark Graham (Ribblesdale A) 19; Steve Townley (Oakhill Vets) 21, Steve Anderton (Oakhill Vets) 11.

Semi-finals: Peter Cunliffe 21, Ian Edmondson 19; David Rose 21, Steve Townley 15.

Final: Peter Cunliffe 21, David Rose 4.

Meanwhile, the President’s Silver Salver competition was held at Lower Darwen Memorial Bowling Club.

There were three previous winners in the quarter finals, but Colin Massey and four-times winner, defending champion, Stewart Gall, failed to progress. However, Graham Wood (pictured left) also looking for a fifth title, managed to reach the final again. His opponent was Lee Ramell (also pictured left) who was first to settle and was looking comfortable with a lead of 11-3.

Graham gradually reduced the deficit to 11-7, but Lee went further ahead at 16-10. At this point, the game changed quite dramatically, with Graham opting to change his peg on a mark which had previously reaped no reward. Lee struggled to find a reply as Graham was almost home at 20-16. Lee however, got it back to 20-19 but Graham found the winning bowl at the next end, to record his fifth Silver Salver win.

Quarter-final results: Graham Wood (Burnley Road B) 21, Mick Opie (Globe Heys) 20; Peter Graham (Lower Darwen A) 21, Pam Haslam (Lower Darwen A) 9; Lee Ramell (Free Gardeners A) 21, Stewart Gall (Rushton Street A) 18; John Schofield (Coppice) 21, Colin Massey (Globe Heys) 12.

Semi-finals: Graham Wood 21, Peter Graham 9; Lee Ramell 21, John Schofield 7.

Final: Graham Wood 21, Lee Ramell 19.