Alan’s fourth Ribblesdale Cup victory

editorial image

THE Ribblesdale Cup was played for in brilliant sunshine at Ribblesdale Wanderers Cricket and Bowling Club on Sunday.

The Ribblesdale Cup was first played for in 1914 and carries a great number of Ribblesdale bowlers’ names.

Alan Dewhurst won it this year for the fourth time, having previously won it in 2004, 2005 and 2010.

RESULT: Quarter-Finals - A. Dewhurst 21, K. Tomlinson 17; L. Tomlinson 13, M. Rimmer 21; P. Holt 21, J. Holt 13; A. Threlfall 10, M. Graham 21.

Semi-Finals - A. Dewhurst 21, M. Rimmer 8; P. Holt 21, M. Graham 12.

Final - A. Dewhurst 21, P. Holt 17.

The photo shows, from left, Chris Snape (organiser) presenting the cup to the winner Alan Dewhurst (s).

• SABDEN Bowling Club are taking entries for their annual £750 floodlit singles competition.

Entry is £6 and qualifying is every Tuesday and Thursday during September.

Qualifying dates are: tonight, the 11th and 13th, 18th and 20th, 25th and 27th. Each night practice is at 6 p.m. for a 6-30 p.m. start.

Finals evening is on Sunday, September 30th, with an earlier practice and start time of 5 p.m. and 5-30 p.m. respectively.

Refreshments will be available.

Entries can be made to either John Robinson (07808170968) or Bob Wright (07713862870).