Charity is the winner at Clitheroe Lions’ golf day

More than 100 golfers took part in the 15th Annual Golf Day organised by Clitheroe Lions Club at Clitheroe Golf Club and helped raise almost £4,000 for local charities.

Saturday, 8th August 2015, 9:00 am

The leading score from the 27 teams came from the Mortimers Estate Agency team of Robert Lloyd, Jake Chadwick, Oliver Cross and Gary Hickling with 91 points, followed by Kieron Hunt’s Whitehead and Wood team assisted by Dave Brown, Alf England and Nigel Clowes on 84 points.

The Blue Finn outfit of Mark Wilding, David Kirkham, Roger Smith and Bob Payne took third spot with 83 points.

Other prize winners were the Evergreen team (nearest the pin at the 5th hole); Nigel Clowse (nearest the pin at the 14th hole) and David Thornhill (straightest drive).

The prizes were presented in the clubhouse by Lions’ President Ian Joyce.

The Captain of Clitheroe Golf Club, Ian Walsh, congratulated the Lions Club on the way the day was organised and thanked them for the generous donation to his Captain’s Charity Fund.

Visiting golfers swept the board in the Sir Michael Bonallack Seniors Open at Clitheroe Golf Club last week. The winner with 37 points was Tom Brennan from Bracken Ghyll after a card play-off with Gary Dickens from Heaton Park and Penwortham’s Barry Siddall.

The highest placed home player was Mike Gibson in fourth with 36 points.

There was a tight finish to Saturday’s Four Ball Better Ball competition but Stuart Nunn’s birdie 4 at the final hole gave him and partner Peter Catlow 42 points to win by one point.

Runners-up after a card play-off were Dave Heesom and Simon Raine with Tim Clarke and Mile Corish third ahead of James Andrews and Chris Brennan.

The Midweek Medal and 9th Tradesman’s Trophy Qualifier was won by Jonathan Penson’s 76-05-71 after a card play-off with Gary Byrne. Club Champion Mark Ashworth was third with the best gross score of 70.

The winner of Sunday’s Stableford was Christopher Heslop with 42 points, ahead of Ed Snowden, who beat Nigel Fitton in a card play-off on 36 points.

The Division One winner was Miles Wade and Alf England headed Division Two.

Wayne Ivinson took Mytton Fold Golf Club’s Captain’s Weekend, but Keith Fitzhenry repeated his ace at the first to take his second hole-in-one – and his second Boss watch – in consecutive years.

Saturday dawned wet and windy, but Steve Worrall’s nett 64 was the lowest of the weekend.

Unfortunately a Sunday family commitment meant his overall chances were scuppered – doubly unfortunate when that was cancelled!

Steve was chased home by Fitzhenry, who started by acing the first hole! With a Boss watch donated for holes-in-one, Keith nearly has an arm full, following his similar success last year.

Former Captain Phil Hammond finished third, just losing out to Keith on a card play-off, but ahead of Matt Oakley, Garry Aldred (Division One winner), Wayne Ivinson and Dave Griffith, all with nett 69s.

Steve James (Division Two winner) and Dave Pennington came home with nett 70s, just ahead of Club President David Hargreaves with a 71.

Sunday was calmer and drier and early bird Wayne Ivinson led the field home with a 67, just pipping Matt Oakley following a card play-off. Dave Clegg, Garry Davies (Division One winner) and David Hargreaves (Division Two winner) all finished one shot behind the leading duo. Tony Cross finished a shot further back, ahead of Garry Aldred and Chris Chadwick with nett 70s.

And so the calculators came out to find the winners over the weekend.

Ivinson took home the trophy with 69+67=136 to squeeze home ahead of Matt Oakley (69+67=136), Matt just losing out following the tightest of card play-offs.

David Hargreaves took third with Garry Aldred taking Division One and Dave Pennington Division Two.

Ladies’ winner Brenda Griffith attempts to chip in at the 7th, watched by Carole Maher.

The ladies played their competition on Sunday with Brenda Griffith taking the win, Carole Maher second and Doreen Hammond third.

Longest drive for the men was taken by Tony Cross, while nearest the pin was Nigel Fairhurst.

In the ladies’ section Brenda Griffith was nearest the pin, while Carole Maher hit the longest drive.

New boy Nick Jefferson lifted the Arthur Longworth Cup at Whalley Golf Club with a two-round total of 69+69=138, closely followed by rivals and friends, Peter Seavers and Martin Crabtree both on 142.

Saturday also saw the second round as a separate competition.

Overall winner was Peter Seavers with a commendable 68. Second place in Division One went to Peter Fletcher with 68, and third was John Heap also with 68.

Division Two winner was Bruce Craig with 69 followed by Jefferson with 70. Third in this high-scoring match was Steve Farnsworth with 72.

The Deer Park Trophy was played at Stonyhurst Park Golf Club on Sunday.

Excellent conditions produced some very good scores.

Brent Aspinall was the winner with 43 points, second was Adam Hayhurst with 41 and third was John Simpson with 40.

Clitheroe ladies enjoyed an exchange day at Lancaster Golf Club on Thursday while a party of lady members from Lancaster played the Clitheroe course.

There was only a small turn out for the Two Division Stableford last Tuesday with Val Fairless taking the honours in Division One and Jill Farthing in Division Two.

The Juniors were in action on Sunday in the Junior President’s Day and Summer Champion competition. George Nightingale won with a score of 79-08-71, closely followed by George Bland on 89-17-72. George Young was third place with the lowest round of 76.