Legends game aids a very worthy cause

Waddington FC would like to thank all who participated in the Raymond Boyd Memorial Trophy game at Clitheroe's Shawbridge ground.

Thursday, 19th July 2018, 1:30 pm
The game was kicked-off by Harry Dugdale Pictures: Keith Driver

The match, involving current Waddington players and Waddington Legends, was a huge success.

Played in sunny conditions, a very healthy crowd applauded as volunteers working for the Cystic Fibrosis Society commenced proceedings with the kick-off.

Waddington would especially like to thank Keith Driver (photographer), Ian Walsh (referee), Anne Barker and Clitheroe FC, for all their hard-working staff, players, volunteers, the club sponsors, but most of all everyone who attended and supported this very worthy cause.

Waddington Legends v Waddington FC

£600 was raised through generous donations and will be forwarded to the Cystic Fibrosis charity appeal.

At half-time Waddington held their presentation to celebrate a successful season.

The first team won promotion to the East Lancashire League First Division, and the reserve side finished third in the East Lancashire League and reached the semi-finals of the Norman Pratt Trophy.

Roll of honour: First team – Manager’s Player of the Year, Liam Gidlow; Players’ Player of the Year, Danny Anderson; Player of the Year, Gary Hickling; Goal of the Season, Liam Gidlow; Leading Goalscorer, Rob Lloyd.

Reserve team – Manager’s Player of the Year, Chris Kenyon; Players’ Player of the Year, Craig Barnes; Player of Year, Chris Pinnard.

Club Awards – Young Player of the Year, Adam Pritchard; Clubman of the Year, Luke Conti; Old Cobblers Square Ball, David Potts; Moment of the Season, first team winning promotion; Special Award, Keith Driver, club photographer.