Grindleton FC are village heroes

CHAMPIONS: Grindleton FC
CHAMPIONS: Grindleton FC
Share this article

A DRAMATIC end to the Craven & District Premier League Cup saw Grindleton FC hold their nerve from the spot to be crowned champions.

After a closely fought game against Rolls FC finished up 2-2, the tie was settled by penalties.

For Grindleton, Tony Kelsall, Danny Sharples, Nathan Ball, Jake Chadwick and Martin Dobson all scored from the spot, while keeper Sharples saving the last Rolls’ kick to earn a 5-4 shoot-out success.

It was a well-fought victory for Grindleton, who had lost the previous two league encounters between the sides.

And it was a great reward for the players, manager James Driver, assistant manager Garry Fawcett, and a sizeable crowd of supporters who watched the final at Cross Hill’s ground.

On Tuesday evening last week, the victorious team paraded the cup ahead of the last home game of the season against Wagon FC, a match they won by a resounding 8-0 to end the season in style.

Many Grindleton villagers turned out to watch the game and see the cup.

Club chairman Ray Powell said: “We received a lot of congratulatory emails from members of the community following the cup win, and a lot accepted our invitation to come along.

“It was a great game, and played against the backdrop of the new sports pavilion that is rapidly taking shape, and which will provide first-class facilities.

“It’s such an exciting time for Grindleton FC.

“And the club would like to express its thanks to members of the Recreation Committee and Pavilion Project members for their support.

“We are also grateful to have new strip sponsorship for next season from John Moore & Sons (Builders), and from The Spread Eagle Inn at Sawley.

“The rewards this season were thanks to a real club effort, and a lot of players stepped up to the mark this year and did themselves and the club proud.

“We are already looking forward to the 2012/13 season, and are now seeking to recruit additional new players with pre-training starting in July.”

The club’s annual presentation evening dinner was held at The Spread Eagle shortly after the team’s cup final victory.

The awards were handed out as follows:

First team trophy winners: Player Of The Year, Tony Kelsall; Manager’s Player Of The Year, Tony Kelsall; Golden Boot, Nathan Ball; Players’ Player Of The Year, Nathan Ball; Star Man, Jake Chadwick.

Reserve team trophy winners: Player Of The Year, Aamir Zulfi; Manager’s Player Of The Year, Chad Mayoh; Golden Boot, Simon Ryan; Players’ Player Of The Year, Aamir Zulfi; Star Man, Chad Mayoh; Clubman Of The Year, Ray Powell.