Coyle helps Clitheroe Wolves stars celebrate special season

Clitheroe Under 12 Wolves are presented with their awards by Wigan boss Owen Coyle.
Clitheroe Under 12 Wolves are presented with their awards by Wigan boss Owen Coyle.
Share this article

Wigan boss Owen Coyle was on hand to dish out awards as Clitheroe Wolves celebrated another successful season onan and off the pitch..

Now in its 20th year, three presentations had to be held with ex Wolves stars Ross Dent and Wales youth international Will James also giving up their time to recognise the club’s achievements.

A Junior Festival of Football on Roefield was held on the first evening, the Under 7s playing a mini-tournament before Dent and James presented all the boys and girls with medals.

It was the turn of the Under 14s, 15s and 16s to receive their awards at Low Moor Club where Rimington Striker and former Clitheroe Wolves legend Oli Mclean kindly agreed to present the awards to the older Wolves teams.

And a great turnout saw some special awards handed out. Martin Burton’s Under 15 Green, came away with the ADJFL Sportsmanship Award, and also the Martin Rimmer Memorial Trophy for Clitheroe Wolves’ Team of the Year. Anthony McCotter who is manager of the Under 16 Blue team saw his team win the ADJFL Under 16 Cup on Shawbridge in May. He has managed the team since Under 7s and also picked up a Long Service award from the club for all his hard work and dedication. Steve Mitchell also received a Long Service award for his efforts with the Under 16 Red.

The final night saw the main presentation take place at St Mary Centre. More than 140 boys and girls and parents packed out the main hall where chairman George Hibbert introduced proceedings.

Former Burnley manager Coyle was the star attraction and was was joined by Rimington stalwarts and ex Wolves Legends Robert Lloyd and Glen Dinsdale from the treble winning team of the 2012-13 season in handing out awards.

Some 14 Wolves teams from Under 8 to Under 12 were presented with their awards by all guests of honour. The special awards on the day were the Under 9 Blues winning the ADJFL Sportsmanship award. Under 10 Blue and Red finished runners up in their respective leagues.

The honour of the day however went to the Under 12 Red who were crowned league champions. Thanks went to manager Steve Thornber and coach Warren Jackson.

Clitheroe Wolves also give out special awards to people who contribute to the running of the club. Sven Russell picked up the Trutex Special Award for his contribution and all round enthusiasm towards the development of the younger players while the Robin Dawson Memorial Award, which is given for outstanding contributions throughout the season, went to new club secretary Andrew Pritchard.

All new players are welcome for the new season and anybody interested should contact club development officer Ross Hibbert at or club sec Andrew at