Clitheroe FC 2-0 Warrington Town

editorial image
Share this article

Clitheroe recorded back to back league wins for the first time this season courtesy of Oliver Devenney’s double against one of the division’s form sides.

And the victory putting clear daylight between the Blues and the relegation zone.

An unchanged starting XI was named, another first this season, but the first chance of a keenly-fought first half fell the way of the visitors as Jack Higgins made a sliding block after his clearance had gone straight to Matty Cross.

Soon after, Dale Wright fired over from Allan Collins’ cutback as the lively forward was released down the left.

The home side that took the lead with a carbon copy of last Saturday’s winner at Salford. Connor Smith and Devenney combined to find James Davis on the left flank. His ball into the box was meant for Alex Johnson, who was needlessly dragged to the deck by River Humphreys.

Just as he had done at Moor Lane, Devenney confidently dispatched the penalty to give Clitheroe a 24th minute lead.

The hosts were close to doubling their advantage 10 minutes later as a thunderous drive by Glodi Kuba-Kuba flew inches wide of the post.

Zack Hibbert made a crucial intervention to maintain Clitheroe’s slender lead, saving a shot from Wright with his legs.

Clitheroe’s second half performance was extremely solid as they absorbed any attacking threat.

The Blues almost extended their lead in the 54th minute as Devenney’s free-kick into the box rebounded to Chris Smalley, whose fierce shot from six yards was somehow kept out by Pritchard.

Warrington had their keeper to thank once again minutes later as he turned behind a Pugh free-kick at full stretch.

And Clitheroe landed their knockout blow in the 78th minute. Andrew Naylor found fellow substitute Ross Dent, who was hacked down by Humphreys, and Devenney’s floated freekick bypassed everyone before sailing into the net.

Clitheroe: Hibbert; Smalley, Pugh, Higgins, Christensen (Fearon 49), Smith, Taylor, Devenney, Kuba-Kuba (Naylor 66), Johnson, Davis (Dent 73). Subs: Osemwegie, Roberts.