Burnley youngster Alex Coleman nominated for award

editorial image
Share this article

BURNLEY youngster Alex Coleman has been named as a finalist for the 2012 Northwest Football Awards Rising Star Award.

Burnley supporters can vote for Alex and help decide which player receives the accolade. The other standout nominees include Everton’s Greece Under-21 striker Apostolos Vellios, Liverpool and England right-back Martin Kelly, Manchester United’s Norwegian midfielder Mats Møller Daehli, Manchester City’s skilful Spaniard Denis Suarez, Blackpool’s former Liverpool winger Tom Ince, Blackburn Rovers’ Jason Lowe and Manchester United midfielder Nick Powell, who is recognised for his displays for Crewe Alexandra last season.

Fans can vote for their chosen Rising Star online by visiting www.northwestfootballawards.com/voting and through the Northwest Football Awards Facebook account at http://bitly.com/NWFAvoting

Those submitting their vote also have the opportunity to enter a competition for the chance to win a pair of tickets to the Northwest Football Awards. The closing date for fans’ votes is 5pm on Monday 29 October.

Consisting of professionals across all aspects of the game, including PFA Chairman Gordon Taylor OBE and former FA Chief Executive Mark Palios, the panel have announced the various finalists for the awards ceremony, which takes place on Monday 12 November at Lancashire County Cricket Club’s ‘The Point’ and will be presented by BBC Sport’s Dan Walker.

The awards also celebrate achievements across all areas of professional clubs – from the Premier League to the Blue Square Premier Division, including the best community initiatives, marketing campaigns and sponsorship engagement. Special categories on the night will also recognise the Northwest Football Journalist of the Year, Manager of the Year and Goal of the Year, as well as a Lifetime Contribution to Northwest Football.

The full shortlists for the divisional Player of the Year awards are as follows:

Rising Star Award

Sam Grimshaw - Altrincham

Jason Lowe - Blackburn Rovers

Tom Ince - Blackpool

Andy Kellett - Bolton Wanderers

Alex Coleman - Burnley

Andrai Jones - Bury

Josh Todd - Carlisle United

Nick Powell - Crewe Alexandra (now with Manchester United)

Apostolos Vellios - Everton

Martin Kelly - Liverpool

James Bolton - Macclesfield Town

Denis Suarez - Manchester City

Mats Møller Daehli - Manchester United

Joe McGee - Morecambe

Chris Taylor - Oldham Athletic (now with Millwall)

Danny Mayor - Preston North End (now with Sheffield Wednesday)

Sam Minihan – Rochdale

Ian Ormson - Stockport County

Danny Holmes - Tranmere Rovers

Tim Chow - Wigan Athletic

Tickets and tables for his year’s Northwest Football Awards are still available, for more information visit www.northwestfootballawards.com