Burnley defender Trippier is named in PFA team of year

Clarets right back Kieran Trippier was named in the PFA Championship team of the year on Sunday night.

Monday, 29th April 2013, 9:33 am
Kieran Trippier is pictured with PFA Chairman, and former Claret, Clarke Carlisle, at the PFA Awards on Sunday night

The 22-year-old is the second successive Burnley player to earn the accolade, after Jay Rodriguez was selected last year, ahead of his record move to Southampton.

Trippier, who attended the awards ceremony in London at the Grosvenor Hotel in Mayfair, has started 47 of the club’s 49 games so far this season, having only missed one in his first year with the club after arriving from Manchester City, initially on loan, in the summer of 2011.

The former England Under 21 international is the club’s reigning player of the year, and he said: “It’s a fantastic honour and I’m proud to be here representing Burnley. I don’t feel I’ve been on top form throughout the season, and I certainly feel my best is yet to come.

“But being nominated is only possible because of the way the team has played.

“Everyone knows I like to get forward as much as possible, but you need to have confidence in the players around you to do that, and we have a great bunch of lads here at Burnley. It’s largely because of them that I’m here and I’m absolutely delighted.”

Team: Schmeichel (Leicester), Trippier (Burnley), Morgan (Leicester), Hudson (Cardiff), Bridge (Brighton), Zaha (Crystal Palace), Ince (Blackpool), Whittingham (Cardiff), Bolasie (Palace), Murray (Palace), Vydra (Watford).

Previous Clarets honoured...

Leighton James (1975); Martin Dobson (1982), Brian Flynn and Billy Hamilton (1984), Kevin Hird (1986), Steven Davis (1991), Stephen Davis (1992, 1999, 2000), Marlon Beresford (1993, 1994), Kurt Nogan (1996), Gary Parkinson and David Eyres (1997), Glen Little (2000), Jay Rodriguez (2012).