Blues frustrated as winning run is ended

David Lynch wins a header for Clitheroe against Trafford on Saturday'''''Pictures: Peter Ryan
David Lynch wins a header for Clitheroe against Trafford on Saturday'''''Pictures: Peter Ryan
Share this article

Clitheroe could consider themselves unfortunate to see their four-game winning streak come to an end at Trafford on Saturday.

The Blues created the better openings in the first half, but were unable to take advantage as the sides went in goalless at the break.

Blues player-manager Simon Garner

Blues player-manager Simon Garner

Midway through the half, Sefton Gonzales’ header sent Louis Mayers through, but he couldn’t find the target, lifting the ball over the keeper, and the bar. Shortly after, Brandon Barski’s 25-yard strike fizzed just over.

Ten minutes before half-time, Mayers slid to meet a low ball from the left, but couldn’t direct his effort goalwards.

Clitheroe were made to rue their profligacy 11 minutes into the second half.

Trafford’s Aaron Burns went clear on goal and teed up Mitch Bryant to score from close range, though Clitheroe’s players and travelling support insisted the goal should have been chalked off for off-side.

Action from Saturday's game against Trafford

Action from Saturday's game against Trafford

Just after the hour, Scott Bakkor and Michael Hampson came on for Scott Harries and Barski, but Trafford had a chance to double their lead, only for Bryant to hit the side netting.

Clitheroe’s final substitute Kurt Willoughby, on for Mayers, had a late free kick turned round the post, but Trafford sealed victory at the death as Danny Brady handled the ball, denying a clear goal scoring opportunity, resulting in a penalty and a red card.

Chris McDonagh scored from the spot to settle matters.

Tuesday night’s home game with Glossop North End was postponed, but the Blues are at Brighouse on Saturday before a trip to Burscough on Tuesday night.

Clitheroe: Woodhead; Heywood, Walker, C. Lynch, Brady, Garner, Harries (Bakkor), D. Lynch, Gonzales, Mayers (Willoughby), Barski (Hampson). Subs: Benjamin, Dent.