Brennan and Currie are the clear winners at Clitheroe Golf Club

David Brennan and Craig Currie were the clear winners of Saturday's Fourball Betterball Stableford at Clitheroe Golf Club.

Wednesday, 9th August 2017, 10:00 pm
Updated Monday, 11th September 2017, 12:14 pm
Junior Presidents Day winner Jorge Hodgson with Clitheroe Club President Les Bury (right) and Club Captain Peter Hargreaves

They scored 45 points, one better than the runners-up Gary Clarkson and Colin Baker, with Phil Walmsley and former Clitheroe FC manager Denis Underwood a further shot back in third on 43 points, after card play-offs with the pairings of Clive Richards and Russ Hargreaves and Iain Sellick and Club Captain Peter Hargreaves.

One handicap George Young was in fine form in Sunday’s Medal, notching up four birdies in the first nine holes.

And although he dropped shots at the 6th and 7th holes, reached the turn in two-under-par 33.

The back nine were played in level par to finish with a score of 69-1-68.

Julian Troup was the runner-up on 76-5-71, with David Oversby taking third spot with his round of 77-5-72.

The Divisional winners were Stuart Biggs (DivisionOne), Robert Driver (Division Two) and Adam Wood (Division Three).

A Midweek Medal and Sixth Tradesman’s Trophy Qualifier was won by Paul Hargreaves with a score of 78-10-68, two shots better than Alex Ashworth, who was the runner-up on 79-06- 70 after a card play-off with Club Champion Mark Ashworth, who scored 68+2-70.

A Ladies’ 18 hole Stableford on Sunday produced a two-way card play-off, with Janette Dowdy getting the verdict over Michell Fielding with a score of 35 points. Chris Stokes was third with 33 points.

President Les Bury held his President’s Day for the Juniors on Sunday.

The winners were Jorge Hodgson (18 holes), Finlay Legood (9 holes) and Harris Rafferty (putting).

* Last Thursday, Whalley Ladies held their annual August Open, which was sponsored by the Fence Gate Restaurant of Wheatley Lane Road, in Fence.

Although the weather was more like autumn than the middle of summer, it was a very enjoyable and well-attended event.

The first prize was won by the trio of Allison Nuttall, Hazel Sellars and Linda Clegg.