Launch of Valley UKIP

UKIP – the United Kingdom Independence Party – has celebrated the launch of its Ribble Valley branch.

UKIP celebrates launch of Ribble Valley branch.

It has been formed in response to a significant growth in support locally and is led by newly appointed chairman Simon Kerins, of Whalley.

Initially the branch aims to build on last year’s General Election result in which UKIP candidate Steve Rush polled 3,496 votes – a 250% increase on the 2005 poll. People in the Ribble Valley already have some representation by UKIP, as the party’s chairman, Paul Nuttall, is one of the North West’s nine MEPs.

UKIP is aso fielding three candidates in next month’s local elections for Ribble Valley Borough Council – Steve Rush in Salthill Ward (Clitheroe), Ron Loebell Edisford and Low Moor (Clitheroe), and Simon Kerins in Billington and Old Langho.

Until recently, Ribble Valley UKIP was part of the East Lancashire Committee, but, with a huge increase in support locally, it was decided to launch a branch to focus on specific Ribble Valley issues whilst also attracting new members.

Simon Kerins commented: “There is an old saying that, regardless of your particular area of activity, you should never be your own best customer. Far from setting up a local forum from scratch and in hope more than expectation, we are responding to huge demand and support for a dedicated Ribble Valley branch.

“Ours is an inclusive party that, contrary to popular perceptions, has a full range of domestic policies and a passionate commitment to both listening to and empowering local communities.”

Further information about Ribble Valley UKIP can be obtained from Simon Kerins on 07758 105 177 or by e-mail at For general information on UKIP and its policies, visit: