Hats off to dedicated young learners

Children's University graduation at St German's Cathedral''Credit: Morrison Photos Ltd
Children's University graduation at St German's Cathedral''Credit: Morrison Photos Ltd

The first youngsters to graduate from the Children’s University received their awards at a ceremony in St German’s Cathedral, Peel.

Wearing gowns and mortar boards, 47 children aged five to 14 were the first graduates under the scheme, launched in the island in March 2012.

Joined by family, they celebrated clocking up hundreds of hours of Children’s University learning through visiting the growing list of validated ‘public learning destinations’.

Carys Lloyd, who leads the island’s Children’s University, said the class of 2013 should be ‘very, very proud’ of their achievements: ‘Thanks for taking part, being confident go-getters and fantastic and fabulous Children’s University learners.’

The charitable trust rewards children’s participation in activities taking place outside the normal school day.

Children buy passports for £2 and gain stamps by visiting destinations including Manx National Heritage sites, dance, arts and music organisations and sports groups.

They also gain passport stamps by attending their schools’ lunchtime and after-school activities, provided their school is a partner.

Bronze awards, for youngsters who clocked up 30 hours, were presented by Children’s University Trust UK chief executive Ger Graus and Carys.

Multiple awards, for youngsters who completed up to 200 hours, were presented by Isle of Man Children’s University chancellor Dr Jeremy Paul, and University of Chester deputy provost Lynda Moore, with which it is linked.

Bronze award: Scoill Vallajeelt – Aimee Picken, Matthew Jones, Torryn Jones, Nathan Jones, Reece Freestone; St John’s – Ealish Ayres, Francesca Fairbairn, Catreeney Ayres, Isaac Allan, Aryssa Fairbairn; Cronk-y-Berry – Kyle Crellin, Elizabeth Shooter, Charlotte White, Freya Morris, Jane-May Griffiths; Kewaigue – Feena Corkill, Conylt Corkill; Arbory – Nicholas Jenkins, Lisa Mizoki Martin, Brenda Jenkins. Marown –Nasiv Chohan, Martha Willoughby, Lydia Okell, Henry Divall, David Sargent; Michael – Rose Turner, Emily Kneen, Cameron Hawes, Laura Jackson, Amy Clague, Sophia Clague; Peel Clothworkers’ – Mackenzie Brown; Ballacottier – Lily Bridson; St Thomas – Jessie Quigley; Castle Rushen High School – Ben Holmes.

Multiple awards: Scoill Vallajeelt – Callum Freestone, Haydn Freestone; Marown – Gabrielle Divall; Cronk-y-Berry – Jessica Halsall, Chevonne O’Boyle, Jake Hicks, Hannah Morris, Jodie Vaughan; Michael – Brynley Mayhew; St John’s – Reuban Allan; Peter Boussougou, Leighton Ginty.