Clitheroe Young Farmers’ awards night

Clitheroe YFC chairman Oliver Bristol and president Mary Bailey at the club's 2012 presentation evening
Clitheroe YFC chairman Oliver Bristol and president Mary Bailey at the club's 2012 presentation evening
Share this article

CHAIRMAN Oliver Bristol welcomed 98 members and guests to Clitheroe Young Farmers Club’s annual presentation evening, held at the Shireburn Arms Hotel, Hurst Green.

Oliver thanked not only those who had won the club’s awards, but also those who had taken part in all the competitions, making another excellent year.

He also presented club president Miss Mary Bailey with a personalised club shirt, which she declared she would wear with pride. After an enjoyable meal, awards were presented by Miss Bailey.

Winners were: J. Bibby Agricultural Tankard for Best Junior Boy – Tom Chew; National Westminster Trophy for Best Junior Girl – Grace Ashworth; Roger Green Trophy for Most Involved Junior Boy – Jake Thwaite; Jennifer Faraday Trophy for Most Involved Junior Girl – Natalie Bristol; Michael Benson Tankard for Best Boy – John Walmsley; Ingham and Tipping Challenge Rose Bowl for Best Girl - Issy Kenyon; Peter Harrison Memorial Trophy for Involvement – Megan Ashworth; Martyn Bristol Shield for Senior Stock Judging – John Walmsley; Mr and Mrs R. Williamson Shield for Intermediate Stock Judging – Megan Ashworth; Clitheroe & District Agricultural Show Trophy for Junior Stock Judging – William Whitwell; Tuco Chemical Trophy for Pig Judging – Richard Whitwell; G. W. Barge Cup presented for Tractor Backing – Dom Warbrick; James Spurgeon Trophy for Outstanding Contribution – James Smith; Robin Greenwood Challenge Cup for Most Improved Junior – Jack Pickup; Florence Cowperthwaite Attendance Trophy – Megan Ashworth; County Clay Pigeon Shoot – Steven Roberts; County Land Rover Backing – Harry Whitwell; NFU Mutual Trophy for YFC Got Talent – Grace Ashworth; Mark Proctor Award for County Dairy Eliminator – William Bristol; Ruth Lambert Award for Promoting Lancashire Young Farmers by doing a sponsored bike ride – Robert Cowgill and James Capstick; National Certificate for Reading – Grace Ashworth. Awards won by the club this year were the County Volleyball Trophy, County Fence Erecting Award and County Ten Pin Bowling Award.